We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park, Stay and Fly great deal, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Portland to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Portland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Riverside Street - I95, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn Bonus Pts
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Park, Stay and Fly great deal, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Stayed here for two nights before we flew out of PWM. The price was excellent and the condition of the rooms told us why it was so cheap. The hotel was not dirty, it was just in desperate need of a refurbishment. The check in was only fair, the girl at check in was not very informative with questions and assumed we knew the answers to our questions so there was no real need to explain anything. We had asked for a cot to which we were told she would look. After an hour of waiting I called to see where it was and was informed there were none. I guess we should have known that answer as well! The next morning I went and asked for another cot for that night. Again after a couple of phone calls that evening to see if there was one we went in the hall and there it was. No knock on the door, no phone call. Not sure how long it was there but we had one anyway.

Overall we were happy with our stay, the pool was fine, as was the room. The only thing is it is need of a major reno, soon with all the other hotels doing so. If flying out of PWM go for it $80 for a night including your parking for up to 21 days is great.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    376
    229
    79
    36
See reviews for
354
334
96
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We had a fabulous time during our stay. The room was very clean, great size, plenty of space for us. Loved the water and snacks set up in the room for our arrival. We all enjoyed the pool and two hot tubs. Very convenient to have two restaurants connected to the hotel. No need to leave, everything you need right there. The service was excellent. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, especially Mark, the General Manager. We didn't realize until two days after we were home that my son had left his video game charger in the room. We called and housekeeping knew exactly where it was and mailed it out to us the next day. We will definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to everyone. The last two hotels we stayed at we were kept up all night by the noise from other guests and had to call the front desk to complain. At this hotel, we never heard a single sound around us. It was so nice to get a good night's sleep away from home.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

Our family stay at HO/JO's sucked. I called and booked 3 rooms 2 months before our stay. I was told by the lady at the fron desk that I could book a ajoining room. When we got there the woman said that I did not have that and it was not a choice it was on a first come first serve basis. Then when I asked if all 3 rooms were next to eachother she said no just 2 of them are and the 3rd is down the hall and it is not ready yet( it was 3:30 when we checked in). Me and my family took the room that was not ready. when we got ready to go to our room i opened the door and it smelled of URINE so bad. I was on my way to the front desk when i saw a maid and asked her about it. she said that a couple had a dog in there yesterday. Clearly it URINATED on the rug. I went to the front desk and told the ladies about it. they didnt want to do anything about it untill i said that i just talked to the maid and she said there was a dog in there. Anyways they gave me a new room. It never got warm in our room the heat was a mix of warm and cold coming out of the heater(and it was loud) the shower/tub didnt drain well so you stood in 4inches of water taking a shower. And when i asked if they could put me closer to rest of my party they put me in the last room of the hall. We stayed there on Sunday and Monday. I know that most of the roooms were not occupied. The woman at the front desk were just RUDE. I will never stay at Howard Johnsons again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, New Brunswick
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

We booked into the Park and Fly service as we were going to Florida to board a cruise ship for March Break with our teen kids. Long story short - our flights were cancelled and we had to make alternate arrangements. The shuttle picked us up at the airport and returned us to the hotel. The kids went back to the room and the staff gave us an office with a phone and computer. We were 3 hours re-arranging our flights and the staff was fabulous! We couldn't have done it without them. We made it to the cruise ship with an hour to spare. Beware - there are 2 HOJO's in Portland. We went to the wrong one first and had to turn back to find the right one.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor NB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We were there using the park and fly and found the service at the hotel and with our airport delivery and pick up both excellent. We stayed both on our departure and return and enjoyed the spaciousness and cleaniness of the rooms both times. Although we did not have time to use all the facillities we did notice an indoor pool and exercise facilities. We did take advantage of the attached chain resturant for an decent breakfast.
We have already recommmended this hotel to friends who are headed to Portland for the upcoming weekend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Good value with a good location. This was very accomodating while I was on business.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Excellent hotel and has a great "Park and Fly" plan where they provide a free 24 hour airport shuttle, you can stay as little as one night and leave your car at the hotel for up to 2 weeks, then they will pick you up at the airport when you return. Hotel has lots of free outdoor parking, an indoor heated pool as well as a fitness centre. Excellent staff, very appealing lobby area with numerous eating establishments near by as well as a large grocery store.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
3.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Address: 155 Riverside Street - I95, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.