We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and located well.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Portland to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Portland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Riverside Street - I95, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Middlebury, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and located well.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Happily surprised at the quality of this hotel! We were given a single room instead of a double but that was switched with no trouble and we got a room upgrade to the "home office". The room was large and the heater worked well. Loved that there were 2 sinks - one in the bathroom and one outside the bathroom. The beds were comfortable. Enjoyed the refrigerator and microwave. Ate at Season's Restaurant (2 meals) had a 10% restaurant coupon from the front desk. The new Egg and I restaurant had just opened (took the place of the Friendly's) and we enjoyed breakfast there as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    316
    174
    63
    27
See reviews for
277
271
82
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sullivan, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hotel was clean and quiet. Great location. Would stay again. No free breakfast, but there is a restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkHeisler, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Portland, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Our staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel takes pride in providing our guests with a clean and comfortable room and pleasant stay. We are also pleased to welcome our all new breakfast restaurant – The Egg & I, which opened on March 25th. They offer an expansive and tasty breakfast and lunch menu daily. They join our dinner restaurant, Seasons Grille & Bar, in providing our guests two onsite dining options. I hope that you will visit us again soon so that you can give them a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We did a "reverse park and fly"- parking there for 2 weeks, and planning to stay when we arrived at midnight on return. But our flights got messed up, so we arrived the next morning. Staff were very agreeable, picking us up at the train instead of the plane, and the total cost, about $80, which included shuttle service to the airport and from the train, was still half what it would have cost just to park at the airport!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We enjoyed the hotel, its convenience to the Maine Turnpike and location between Portland/Westbrook. The only issue we had was the shower was slow draining.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Address: 155 Riverside Street - I95, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.