We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, nothing fancy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Portland to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Portland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Riverside Street - I95, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Elkridge,MD
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“good value, nothing fancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

we stayed here 1 night to visit Portland. I thought the value for my $$ was good. The electric wall sockets were well worn and our chargers didn't even want to stay in - a small thing but annoying (I gave them a note when I left). It had a sink in the bathroom and another outside the bathroom which was handy.

I would stay here again for a place to stay while doing tourist stuff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    338
    191
    66
    28
See reviews for
300
296
86
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The room was okay.. nothing great to be honest. We spent a night there.The air condition in our room (217) was noisy. The main entrance to the hotel had a weird musty smell. There was mould in our bathroom tub. ewww.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Came by at 11:30 am to get some brochures...and they had a room ready for us...in fact had a CHOICE of rooms for us and let us check in early...that was a first for me an AWESOME!
Got price of Hotwire and reviews said swimming and fitness rooms were great...they were right. Nice accommodations and very friendly.helpful staff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, Virginia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The surrounding area looks as if it may be a bit depressed but we were very happy with our stay here. The hotel is well maintained and they had the most comfortable bed and best amenities of all of the hotels in which we stayed on this vacation. They have a nice pool, two hot tubs and an exercise room. The staff is very nice and helpful. Good choice for lodging. They have a great breakfast but really could use more space for people to sit and eat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, NY
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed our last night of vacation, its part of the wyndham rewards program. I have not been a fan of Howard Johnson's in the past and was skeptical going in. We gave it a go anyway. I was actually please to find it clean and comfortable. We had a king bed on the second floor and a balcony with a view of the street. The bathroom was tiny but enough room for 2, the shower head a little low, but nothing that should interfere with the average height person. Although we slept well due to our exhausting day and the comfort of the large bed, we were awoken around 6am on a Wednesday morning due to the heavy volume of commuter traffic. The friends we were traveling with stayed across the hall and reported the same thing waking them that morning. My only real complaint is that the out of date curtains need to be removed, not only are they ugly curtains but there were several little pin holes in the set in our room, allowing just enough light in the morning after being awoken by traffic to be kept awake.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights here on vacation when we were visiting friends in Portland. Very handy to the highway and easy to find. Not convenient at all to downtown or anywhere south.

Friendly staff. My son loved the pool. Great value for breakfast - not free (since there is a restaurant on site) but the best $8.50 steak and eggs breakfast I've ever seen.

No fridge or microwave in the room. The room was clean and well presented but the common areas like the hallways and stairs had an old musty feel to them.

Next time I'll probably stay closer to town or perhaps Cape Elizabeth but this HoJo is certainly worth a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

HoJo's is alive and well. Nice enough we stayed two nights. Everything was clean but I must say that the trundle bed looked like the sheets had not been changed. Location is awesome - it is close to everything. The front desk was always very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Address: 155 Riverside Street - I95, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.