We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stop - Lose the Address” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn & Suites Portland to your Saves list
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Riverside Street, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Don't Stop - Lose the Address”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Front desk, repair rep & restaurant staff were EXCELLENT! I hope they get paid well. The property is disgusting. Owner needs to spend money on cleaning, upgrades, etc. Our first room television was a green screen, next TV was fuzzy, the building & rooms had strange odors.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback. We are constantly working on improvements to make our hotel the best in the area. We appreciate any feedback we can use to achieve that goal. Thank you for the compliments of our hotel staff. Our company only hires the friendliest faces and we are proud of them! We have several newly renovated suites with fireplaces and a hot tub. We are currently updating more rooms in our hotel, and will be adding fireplaces and flat screen TVs to more rooms! Next time you’re in the area we hope you will try us again and see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    116
    92
    46
    28
See reviews for
109
118
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Welcoming arrival for tour bus group, but the dinner arrangements on arrival night for group very lacking in quality and quantity with food running out towards the last in the line (i.e., lettuce but no tomatoes left in salad) and no facilitation,in light of some restrictive state laws, for those who wanted to have (at extra cost) wine with the dinner. As alcohol is such a profit for establishments, this doesn't make much sense.

The first breakfast in main dining room was also very lacking, food running out, no toaster for bagels, etc. Subsequent two breakfasts greatly enhanced and improved in a private spacious rooms, although some complaints of eggs being cold, although this was not my experience.

Large room but tiny bathroom, which may make it difficult for two women sharing a room, but serviceable, and most important very clean with plenty of towels.

Very few complimentary USA Today newspapers; believe that none left by Saturday.

The hotel is comfortable in terms of facilities and the housekeeping was excellent; overall very clean. It just needs some improvement in handling large groups better in terms of meals and organization (i.e, some dining room staff unaware whether group having breakfast in main dining room or separate room). Outside of a tour group setting, my rating would probably have been VERY GOOD.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing the details of your experience at the Fireside Inn and Suites in Portland. We are happy to have accommodated your group during your visit to the area. If you get the chance to stay with us again outside of the tour group setting we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just recently got back from a trip to Maine with Bar Harbor being our ultimate goal. As we were planning out our trip, we decided to make reservations here for two nights before we made our way to BH. We arrived to a quaint hotel lobby and were given two whoopie pies upon check-in! (They were delicious!) Our room was a good size with two chairs and a fireplace. We had a slight view of the outdoor pool from our window, Bathrooms were nice, and bed was comfortable. They also give you a ton of pillows - which I loved! Hotel was nice and a great location: right off the highway, right across the street from a shopping center with a grocery store, Kohl's, etc., Denny's is down the street, and a gas station is right there as well. Not to mention it's only a few miles from downtown Portland - an easy commute! The hotel also had a restaurant connected to it - we went there for breakfast and were pleased. It was a great place to break up the drive/refuel/recharge before we started the next phase of our journey. Also: The hotel is two floors, but has elevators if you need them. We didn't manage to find them, but we had a room right next to a stairwell so it made things super easy to get things to and from the car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us about your stay at the Fireside Inn and Suites. We are pleased to know you enjoyed all aspects of your stay here in the Portland area. Our company has over 30 properties in the Maine and New Hampshire area, including Bar Harbor. Hopefully you enjoyed your time up north just as much as you did here. All of our hotels strive to provide excellent customer service, value, and clean comfortable rooms. Please come back and stay with us again or visit one of our other Lafayette Hotel properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the last night of our vacation to coastal Maine - we had an early morning flight and wanted to be close to the airport. The location is only 2 exits away, about 2 miles, from the airport, so it is very convenient and easy to access the airport (the hotel is literally next to the onramp). We checked in about 10PM and did not take advantage of the pools or any other services, but we certainly enjoyed the whoopie pie given to us when we checked in! Our room was on the second floor, and we were a LONG way down a hall that had many bends and twists - we started laughing that it was some sort of haunted never-ending hall. There were fire escapes so that in the worst case, one could get out, but there was no easy way to get from the room to the lobby when there is no emergency. The room was clean and it was really pretty large. It did have a distinctly 80s feel, and I think it could have used a general revamp - things were a little dingy. Clean bathroom with decent supplies from Bath and Body Works. We had to rush to the airport in the morning, but stopped long enough to grab a hot tea and some to-go breakfast items, like muffins and a packaged oat bar. The muffins were not very good, all mushy. But, that is often the case in these types of settings, and I don't expect much. Overall, the hotel was a good experience and I would stay there again in a similar situation.

Room Tip: If you have any accessibility issues, ask for a room close to the lobby! Even though this is normal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your stay at the Fireside Inn and Suites Portland. We are glad you had a pleasant experience and were able to take advantage of our location. Our hotel has 196 rooms, making us one of the largest properties in the Portland area. We have many different types of rooms available including suites, fireplace rooms, and courtyard rooms. You mentioned upgrades; currently we are adding more fireplaces and flat screen TVs to the rooms. We hope you will come back and have the opportunity to see the improvements and use our pools!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Staff were great, the main hotel room was great. The bathroom in the hotel room....it needs a bigger "throne". The current "throne" is made for women only, and is definitely not made for a gentleman that needs to do the "number 2". Outside of that one issue, great place to stay. The restaurant was wonderful, we had dinner and breakfast, some of the best eggs bennidict that I have had in a long time. The seafood was scrumptus. Would seriously consider re booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us about your stay at the Fireside Inn and Suites. We are pleased to know you enjoyed all aspects of your stay here in the Portland area. Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield ri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with a large group of ppl for a local event. If not with others, I would have left right away. The hotel does need updating, painting and let's not forget a good cleaning. My nonsmoking room smelled like smoke, which manager apologized for, then offered to have housekeeping 'spray' daily. Thanks. After two nights of difficulty sleeping due to a very uncomfortable bed, we were greatful that we were allowed to check out a day early. All of this luxury for $200/ night. Never again...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate any comments that can help us to further improve our property. We certainly understand your frustrations about a smoky smelling room. Our hotel is 100% non-smoking, and we have a strict no smoking policy. If anyone does smoke in a room we charge a cleaning fee because our housekeeping staff must spend extra time and resources to clean the room to be able to re-sell. Please accept our apologies for this inconvenience. We hope you enjoyed the Portland area while you were visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My second time at Fireside. The staff is extremely accommodating. The restaurant, lounge, lobby area, both pools, jacuzzi and exercise room were very clean and kept up. Wish exercise room were larger and maybe two jacuzzis for such a large hotel. So all that is great and the price is super. July advanced booking was $99 a night. August was $111. Plus you get $10 off a meal in their restaurant. The rooms raelly do need more thorough cleaning. The AC had possibly mold on the vent slats. The rugs feel damp. I saw no bugs either time. So they really should update room by room, new rugs and drapes, etc. I will go back. The continental breakfast is large and very good, also.

Room Tip: First floor rooms around the back are too near laundry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your loyalty and repeated business. On your next visit ask for a renovated room. We have been adding flat screen TVs, fridges, and fireplaces! We hope to see you next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside Street, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.