We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put my fears to rest immediately!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn & Suites Portland to your Saves list
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Riverside Street, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Orono, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Put my fears to rest immediately!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We booked a reverse park-n-fly package here, needing to park the van for 6 nights and then stay over on the 7th night, when we returned from vacation. I was a little apprehensive, but when I walked in on the day we needed to GO to the airport and told them my name, the first thing the nice guy at the desk (Thomas) said was, "Oh, we've been expecting you!" I was immediately relieved that everything was as it should be. No problem getting the shuttle to PWM, although we learned that the shuttle doesn't run after 11pm (for our return). However, all we had to do was get a cab; the cabbies and even the security guy at baggage claim knew that the Fireside Inn would pay the cabbie directly upon his delivering us to the door- and that's exactly what happened! Our flight was delayed so we didn't get in until 1am, but no problem; the desk clerk paid the cabbie and our room was ready... as were our whoopie pies! They consider them their signature greeting; we called them supper! We stayed in a 2 double bedded courtyard view room, and it was fine. TERRIFIC beds, microwave, fridge, and Keurig coffee maker in the room, big flat screen TV, good water pressure in the shower, many clean towels, 4 pillows per bed. The only issue was the hint of dampness. It doesn't smell musty or smoky (my allergies would have had us out of there in a heartbeat if that was the case); there's just a certain dampness/chilliness in the rooms. I am sure it's from the age of the building, exacerbated by the fact that this has been the rainiest, wettest spring! It wasn't terrible, but it was noticeable. Continental breakfast was great; three cereals, fresh melon, two yogurt flavors, assorted muffins and b'fast breads, mini-bagels, pancake maker, juice, tea, coffee. We had a great visit at the Fireside Inn and I'd definitely stay there again for a few nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind words regarding your experience at the Fireside Inn and Suites in Portland. We are happy to know you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to having you stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    108
    90
    46
    27
See reviews for
105
112
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful. The whoopie pie upon arrival was a fun way to be greeted. The pools are super. My room (non-smoking with two double beds) was fine. Loved having a refrigerator and microwave as well as the usual coffee machine. The room was clean, the towels abundant, the air conditioner worked very well during a very hot stay.

I was traveling alone and it felt safe which is a big plus. The only thing that wasn't up to par was the hot breakfast in the restaurant so I was grateful for the $10 discount on the food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your stay at the Portland Fireside Inn and Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all the wonderful amenities we have to offer. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Front desk staff was friendly and even gave us all a whoopie pie upon check in...

My daughter enjoyed the pool which was very clean, and enjoyable in 85-90 degree weather!

The room had a musty smell, and we actually purchased air fresheners at the supermarket across the street to make it a little more pleasant and tolerable. Again, you get what you pay for.

Quick access to the highway, which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us about your recent stay at the Fireside Inn and Suites in Portland. We are glad you enjoyed the whoopie pies; they are the official state treat of Maine! Please accept our apologies for problem you experienced with your room. Our Front Desk and Housekeeping staff has plenty of air freshener available if it’s ever needed. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The front desk staff are very nice and helpful . Someone is clearly making an effort here with all the little touches such as the whoppie pies ,popcorn , wi fi and the Keurig coffee machine right in your room . There 's two pools and the outdoor one was being enjoyed on the very hot day by many . That said ,unfortunately we found our room -1142-very damp ,a big bug on the bed ( could happen anywhere ) which I killed and the garbage had food in it and had not been emptied (not ours ) . Also I use Tripadvisor a lot and can't help notice how many people ( good intentioned people) with only one review have given them an excellent ,usually a sign that people are trying to improve their placement .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are glad you took the time to share your experience. Thank you for the compliments of our friendly staff and appreciativeness of the small touches we offer. The issues you experienced with housekeeping will be passed onto management. Feedback such as this can help us to further improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Free hot popcorn in the lobby! What a delicious greeting. And still the friendliest staff ever. The Fireside Inn continues to be the most convenient place to stay when visiting Portland. Never have to worry if the room is going to be ready or if it's going to take any time to check in. They make everything so easy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate your continued loyalty and taking the time to review us. The popcorn in the lobby is something new we are trying in all our Fireside Inn locations. It has quickly become a favorite amenity among everyone. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was in town for a dog show circuit, and this property was on the recommended list. Mostly ground floor rooms, very convenient access right off the I-95 exit, with lots of amenities (restaurants, grocery store plaza, gas station, etc) right nearby. Got a plastic dog dish at check-in along with a couple of whoopie pies. Very pleasant staff. Not a high end location but it sure was a great, friendly, convenient location. Good free buffet breakfast too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Portland Fireside Inn. We are happy to hear you and your furry friend enjoyed your accommodations. We hope to see you again on a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Fireside Inn is always clean the rooms are all very comfortable and the staff is the best you will find in any hotel. The front desk people are always freindly, helpful and treat you like family. I won't stay in any other hotel in Portland.

Room Tip: Any room is comfortable and quiet. Rooms by the pool are nice in the summer and the firepplcae rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Fireside Inn and Suites. It’s good to know when we are doing a good job, and we appreciate the kind words. Thank you for your continued business and support. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside Street, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.