We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star and great for wheelchair accessibilty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Portland to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Westbrook Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now, Save Up To 20%
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Catharines, On. Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“5 star and great for wheelchair accessibilty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. The minute you walk in [during the evening] you are welcomed with HAPPY HOUR and a very inviting lounge. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The staff are beyond helpful and very friendly. The breakfast has a fantastic selection with GREAT omelettes. The chef SAM is extremely talented and has a very outgoing personality. He has a flare for presentation and everything was beyond delicious...Especially the ANGUS steak and the scrumptious lobster. For wheelchair users, this EMBASSY SUITES certainly makes life easier. I can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Portland, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear marycat-believe,

Wow! What a great review of your recent stay with us! I have shared your review with the team and they really appreciate your kind words, especially Sam. I am so pleased when someone has such a great stay with us- it really defines hospitality to me.
Thank you again for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and we are all looking forward to seeing you back next year.

All the best,

Stacy O'Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    204
    45
    16
    9
See reviews for
289
219
21
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We got a great price through hotels.com and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Great service from everyone. Tasty breakfast and clean nice room. Not walking distance from old port but a quick drive. Very close to airport but didn't hear a thing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here two nights, in town to watch our daughter graduate law school. Upon arrival was surprised by our other daughter in the company of our two year old grandson. Of course, our focus became the kiddo. In some hotels I would have been rewarded with a patented desk clerk scowl. Here - she laughed, waited patiently and got business taken care of. The whole weekend was like that. Dinner included a classic toddler meltdown, but the wait staff bent over backward to help, including letting me prowl the (closed) breakfast bar for juice and an apple. The rooms were excellent, breakfast included all the usual suspects and there was even coffee and pastries for those of us catching oh-dark flights. This is a good hotel!

Room Tip: We faced the airport and could hear aircraft leaving. If this annoys you, stay on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Portland, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear JimnPat,

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that the team took such good care of you and that you were able to enjoy your family.
It sounds like you had a great visit and that we have a chance to see you again the next time you travel to Portland.

All the best,

Stacy O'Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the service was excellent and the stay couldn't have been better. The room was clean and extremely comfortable. The pack'n'play was already waiting for us in the room for our toddler. Check-in was quick and easy, the staff was very pleasant.

The manager's reception every night includes free drinks and appetizers. It's very plentiful and the staff keeps everything stocked. The free breakfast in the morning is amazing! Free omelet station, scrambled eggs, french toast, bacon, sausage, cereal, baked goods, fruit, and on and on. They don't skimp there either. I went down for breakfast alone one morning with our toddler and one of the staff even sat with him at the table while I got breakfast so he didn't have to sit alone or try to wrangle him while I got food.

The onsite restaurant is a little pricey but the food is amazing. They even made a pasta dish that wasn't on the menu for our son because that's all he wanted to eat. When he had a meltdown in the middle of the restaurant, they didn't even flinch. When one of us decided to head back to the room with him, the staff boxed up those dinners and had it sent to the room so they could finish their meals upstairs.

They shuttled us to and from the car rental place and helped lug baggage. Every single person we encountered, from front desk staff to cleaning staff, was extremely friendly, efficient and helpful.

Room Tip: They ask if you want an airport view or courtyard view. Between the 3 rooms we had, we had all view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I always stay here when I go to Portland. 5oo yards from the airport, but have never heard the planes. The staff is friendly although their business center's internet was very slow while I was there. The absolute best though, is the quality of the food at dinner. Why go downtown to eat when you consistently can get a great meal (including lobster and scallops).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rapid city, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is very clean and the staff are helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to help us buy a house as we are new to the area. Everyday we returned to the hotel they always asked us if we had found a house and were genuinely interested. The breakfast here was very good. Hot and cold items and even an omelet bar. Also the nightly recemption was great to come back and relax to. One night they had a small group playing music during the reception. We would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Portland, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Scott M,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel! I really appreciate your kind words about the staff and that they treated you like family while you were here. I hope that your house hunting was successful.
If so I hope you will stop by to have dinner or listen to the Tony Boffa trio who play in our atrium every Monday night.
I hope we will see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Stacy O'Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

After a confusing start to our trip, the staff at the front desk sorted out several problems (none of which they created), and went to great lengths to make me and my partner feel comfortable and relaxed throughout our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Portland, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Jakatae J,

Thank you for your 5 star review from your recent stay with us. While I'm sorry to hear that you had some challenges at the start of your trip, I'm pleased to see that the hotel team was able to fix it for you. I will be sure to share your feedback with them and I know they will appreciate your kind words.
I look forward to welcoming you back when you return to the Portland area!

All the best,

Stacy O'Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Portland

Address: 1050 Westbrook Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland
Portland Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.