We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable room, great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Portland

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Portland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Westbrook Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Hartford, CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable room, great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at the Embassy Suites Portland for 4 nights. The room was large and clean. I was worried it might be loud because of their airport, but I heard nothing. It is only about 10-15 minutes to downtown Portland. I had considered staying downtown, but was put off by the cost of downtown hotel rooms. However, we ended up being very happy with our choice. This hotel was great and the short drive to Portland was no big deal. With the exception of one rude/unhelpful individual, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They also have a great breakfast (with an omelet station) and manager's cocktail hour—both of which are included in the price. I am not normally one to eat hotel breakfast or go to manager's cocktail hour, but we ended up trying both and were happily surprised by them! I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Make sure there are no youth soccer leagues staying on your floor. (I think this was rare, but the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Portland, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear KatieR,

Thank you so much for your review from your recent stay with us. I'm pleased you gave us a try over the downtown hotels and were happy with your choice! I would like to apologize for your encounter with a rude staff member. This is not the standard I expect from the staff and I'm truly sorry to hear that you had an encounter with one person that was not up to our usual level.
We are, as you mentioned popular with traveling sports teams and take extra steps such as pre assigning groups and hiring outside security during these events. If you return to Portland please feel free to call in advance to see if we have any groups scheduled that may impact your next stay.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Stacy O'Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    159
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
213
164
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Coast Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We have been guests at this hotel several times and would definitely return here again. We travel with two children and the room layout in a suite (2 separate rooms), great breakfast with cooked to order omlettes and managers reception all work really well for us. It is a short drive to the Maine Mall and restaurants and close to the highway. I do however agree with the comments of some others that the hotel is starting to show its age in the rooms and corridors. Nothing serious but if you are a frequent guest you can see this coming on. Also, on this visit there was an odd smell in the corridor which had not been the case on previous stays.Our room was fine though. We had a good stay overall and would return again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

The property is not your typical embassy suites, there is no atrium and no water feature but that does nothing to detract. The property is a bit older and not really close to anything walking except the airport BUT the staff is awesome. The managers reception is far above most and the food is fantastic. The prices are reasonable.... Great for a hotel.... And the quality is superior. The rooms are clean and the lobby is truly a gathering spot. Monday's there is a band that plays a mix at a softer volume. Overall, a really good property to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

On a recent trip to the Maine coast with my family, we stayed 2 nights at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Portland, Maine. We've stayed at Embassy Suites before and like the comraderie of the Manager's Reception in the evening, the extra space offered by the suite-style rooms, and the extensive breakfast buffet. This hotel met our expectations, but did not provide us with an extraordinary experience.

The staff was friendly and efficient. We arrived and were checked into our room within minutes. The room itself was a suite style room with a separate living area and a bedroom. However, the layout of the room did feel small compared to other suite-style rooms we've stayed in before. There was barely enough room to walk around the two double beds in the bedroom. The living room was large enough to hold a sectional couch, but it was a tight fit. It was big enough, but don't set your expectations too high when you think you're staying in a lavish suite.

The Manager's Reception was a nice touch. There was cheese & crackers, chips & salsa, veggies and dips. Platters weren't refilled, so the food was pretty picked over by the time we arrived at 7pm (Reception is from 5:30p-7:30p).

The breakfast buffet was standard hotel free buffet fare. There was a good variety of items available and it seemed fresh and hot. Nothing was outstanding, but there was certainly something for everyone.

However, the room did show some signs of wear and tear. The edges of the sofa were worn and the bathroom needed and update - dark stains in the caulking, etc. While the room was clean, it just looked old and dated. In no way did this impact our comfort, but I expeced a bit better for the price that I was paying for the room and from an Embassy Suite hotel.

The fitness center had a great selection of equipment. The indoor pool was a decent size and there were plenty of chairs surrounding it. The nearby jaccuzzi tub needed a refinishing. The blue paint was faded/chipped off. Again, the tub was fully functional - but it just looked old and dated.

There are several lodging options in the Portland/South Portland area. I think that I would look elsewhere for our next trip before booking here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed here one night on our way up to Bar Harbor, generally impressed and up to standard for this class of hotel.
Staff were helpful and friendly, bright and clean public areas, room fine.
The best part was the breakfast, lots of choice and fresh made omelettes by the cook, just the thing for a good start to the day.
I was initially worried about the chance of aircraft noise when I booked but I did'nt hear a thing.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed at the Embassy Suites located near the Jetport for one night. Didn't initially book the park, stay and fly package, as it was more expensive than just leaving the car in the long term lot. Once I got to the hotel, I asked about purchasing 5 nights of parking. It ended up being cheaper all around...Yay! BTW, no issues with the car when we returned from our trip.
We booked a King Suite and stayed in Room 508, which is across from the elevators. This room is at the back of the hotel with a view of the Jetport. We usually like to be on the top floor, but that floor (6th) is reserved for Platinum members. No noise issues with being close to the Jetport or the elevators, but hubby did hear kids in the hallway running around. The room has enough space for 2 adults max. The living room and bedroom are on the small size with the bathroom in between. With the exception of a rather dirty exhaust fan in the bathroom, the room was clean and neat. Nice toiletries from Crabtree and Evelyn. The bed was comfy. I wish there could have been something other than down pillows. The hairdryer could have used a bit more power, but got the job done. The lighting in the toilet/shower area was poor.
Every night there's a manager's party from 5:30pm to 7:30pm....I think. Free alcoholic and no-alcoholic drinks, free munchies...cheese crackers, veggies/dip, chips, etc....and an awesome banana bread with chocolate chips and nuts on top. There is also a restaurant on the premises; moderate prices. We ordered the Chicken BLAT for $8-9 (bacon, lettuce, avocado, tomato)...very tasty, despite the unappetizing name.
The lobby was clean, the lobby bathroom was clean, the shuttle to the airport, a very nice SUV, was also clean...and timely. All of the staff that we encountered were friendly and courteous. If you need a hotel right at the Jetport, this is the one to stay at....and I've stayed at both!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

For a 4-night trip to the general Portland area in June, we selected this hotel because the prices in downtown Portland were just too high, given that we wouldn’t be spending all the time in downtown Portland. The free hot breakfast was great: chef making omelets to order, make-it-yourself fresh waffles, chafing dishes with scrambled eggs, potatoes, sausage as well as cold cereal, pastries, beverages. The evening reception was fine, some drinks made at the bar and appetizers such as veggies and dip, cheese and crackers.

The room and facilities were in good condition. They have indoor pool , whirlpool, and gym

Although just my husband and I were staying there, when we travel we appreciate having the separate living room in case one of us gets up earlier than the other or wants to stay up later. There were flat screen TVs in the bedroom and living room. The kitchen area consisted of a half-height refrigerator, sink, and microwave with no other “kitchen” items.

Th location is out-of-the way which I realized before we booked. You definitely need a car. It’s about a 10-15 drive to downtown Portland depending on where you’re going and we never found any heavy traffic. If you stay at this hotel be sure to get directions (Google maps or GPS) because it’s somewhat tricky to locate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Portland

Address: 1050 Westbrook Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Portland 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland
Portland Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.