We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Portland

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Portland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Westbrook Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Zion
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Trip to Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We spend typically 30 to 40 days a year in hotels and have seen some really nice ones and some not so nice. This was our first stay at this hotel and the initial impression of the hotel was the very friendly and courteous staff at he check in desk. Our room was great, very clean and well laid out and well stocked with necessities. The hotel had a social get together for guests in the lobby/restaurant area. Again it was catered by an extremely friendly courteous staff. We had dinner later that evening at the restaurant there, and again the staff who looked after us were so nice, they seemed like old friends.
I have never stayed at a place as well organized and comfortable as this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. This is the first time I have written a review like this, but it is definately deserved by the satff at this Embassy Suites Hotel.

Room Tip: If you ask the front desk staff for help and are couteous to them, usually they will recipricate and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Portland, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear George R,

Thank you for your stay with us and your review of our hotel. We are so pleased you were able to enjoy your time with us. We take pride in our warm and friendly staff and are grateful for them. I have made sure to share your review with all of the staff during our morning team meeting. We look forward to seeing you again when you next travel to Portland.

Warmest Regards,

Stacy O'Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    159
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
213
164
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Great value, the room was spotless and modern. Its a good place to stay if needing to get to the airport but don't plan on staying there if your planning to walk downtown. Your either going to drive back with the two beer buzz or end up calling for a cab.

Just cuz it says Portland....More like your in Westbrook.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Portland, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear MikeS,

Thank you for your stay with us and your review of our hotel. We are so pleased that hear that you enjoyed your time with us . As you mention, we are not located in downtown Portland but are just 5 miles from the Old Port District. We offer a great value and alternative in Portland with our all suite rooms, included full breakfast and nightly reception and complimentary parking which none of the downtown hotels offer. Portland is a wonderful city with many great choices for lodging. We appreciate your choosing us for your recent visit and hope to see you again!

Warmest Regards,

Stacy O'Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed one night with two guests. Overall an excellent experience and value. Very comfortable room and bed, excellent breakfast buffet. Fantasic location for a late arrival at the airport. Highly recommended. We then stayed at another Embassy Suites in Waltham Mass, which was just average, so the local management must be very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011 via mobile

Three were four of us and We booked a room with two double beds through Expedia before coming down. When we arrived and went up to our room it was just one king bed.

When we went back down to the desk, they told us that they were sold out of double rooms, and offered us one on the smoking part of the hotel ( disgusting to 4 none smokers!), with further discussion, they ended up giving us 2 rooms, at no additional cost.

Both rooms were gorgeous, and we had a great stay. They went above and beyond to make our stay great and we appreciated it!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Everything was great about this place. The greeting at the front desk was warm. The room was spotless, with large HD TV's in the bedroom and living room, and great channel selection. Had a drink at the bar. The bartender was very friendly. In the morning, I had no hair dryer. I called down to the front desk, and I had one brought to me in 5 minutes. The breakfast was fantastic, and the cook and wait staff were very friendly. I just cannot say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT JOHN
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I recently stayed at the Embassy Suites for a quick trip to Portland. The hotel is right beside and nearly part of the jetport (airport). A 5 minute drive or less from the Maine Mall and lots of shopping and about a 15 minute drive to the downtown Old Port part of Portland. THe room was excellent, with a sitting area with pullout couch, comfortable chairs, and a small fridge and microwave and sink. Through a door was the bathroom sink and counter, and then another door lead to a bathroom with toilet and shower. Off of the area with the sink was the bedroom. We had a nice room with two Queen beds, which were very comfortable.
The checkin was smooth and the staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was excellent - full breakfast buffet with made to order omelettes, and lots of other great food. Easily something you would pay $15 for anywhere, and it was all included in the price of the room.
My experience was smooth from start to finish, and i would certainly stay here again, as the rates are reasonable, and this is quite a step up from some of the more budget focused hotels in the area.

Room Tip: The smoking room are separated from the non smoking by a door which does a good job keeping the smel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Just back from 2 nights here- awesome. Spotless clean, very very friendly staff, managers reception awesome with drinks and snacks of fruit, cheese, chips, salsa, sweet bread,etc. and then an unbelievable breakfast of made to order omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage,pan fries, cold cereals,fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, bagels, breads, juice, coffee, etc. Couldn't have asked for more. Even real flowers on the tables. I was amazed. Bed and room very comfortable. Pool looked nice and clean but didn't use. Did use the computer room and all worked well to print boarding passes. Airport free shuttle round the clock unlike most of the others who have specific times.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Portland, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear treetrippers, thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are so pleased that you could enjoy the great breakfast buffet and made to order omelet station. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Portland

Address: 1050 Westbrook Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Portland 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland
Portland Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.