We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beals Old Fashioned Ice Cream

Beals Old Fashioned Ice Cream
12 Moulton St, Portland, ME 04101-5030
+1 207-828-1335
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 Ice Cream in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Beal's Old Fashioned Ice Cream offers super premium ice cream, frozen yogurt, sugar-free ice cream and sorbet that is hand-crafted into small batches in a wide variety of flavors. There are five locations in the Greater Portland area.
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We wanted ice cream and we found this little gem. You walk in and all there is the ice cream and the seating. Dont let that fool you because they pile the ice cream up for you.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beal's has a baby - Worthy of diet deviation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

BEAL'S has a gem of a spot off Washington Ave. about 5 minutes from the Old Port.
Parking is easy, outside benches with Tiki tops, add to the laid back atmosphere of the yesteryear jaunts my dad used to take us on to the "Dairy Joy" in Watertown, MA.
College kids greet everyone with a smile. Every flavor imaginable, as well as banana splits, hot fudge sundaes, "Elvis" concoctions, and low fat orange treats. They have 'jimmies'--AKA 'sprinkles' , and a wide variety of fresh, crisp waffle and sugar cones.
My favorite ice cream flavors are Peppermint Stick- real peppermint pieces and a beautiful pink color, and Maple Walnut! Yum. Also, the place is spotless- one worker was outside changing waste basket liners- very clean!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west baldwin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Let me just say this place is not your typical everyday ice cream stand. The sweet smell of their fresh waffle cones was enough to draw you in! I had their homemade blueberry ice cream (of course, in the waffle cone!). It was like no other ice cream I've tasted. So creamy and rich and tasted like fresh Maine blueberries! Serving size is incredible too. They also have several tables to sit and enjoy your ice cream at, along w/ great tunes too! And if you want good old fashioned customer service - this is your place. All smiles here. I'll definitely be back!!

Soozy
West Baldwin ME

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“so delicious and creamy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

so many flavors, so little time! Beals is a perfect Old Port fest stop off, or really, anytime -the shop is tucked into a little corner and is easily accessible from many a hotel and shop :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must-visit if you are passing thru Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent ice cream and a family-owned business. This is the gathing place for families that visit for the summer and locals that want the best ice cream in town. Always a line but it moves fast and you get to chat with your neighbors!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beals Old Fashioned Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Beals Old Fashioned Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beals Old Fashioned Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.