We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The inn is impeccably decorated and...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pomegranate Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pomegranate Inn
Save
You added Pomegranate Inn to your Saves list
49 Neal Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Sneak Away Deal
Ranked #7 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Cheshire Ct.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The inn is impeccably decorated and...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

The inn is impeccably decorated and impressive upon arrival. Looks are deceiving, because the real core of a B&B is both hospitality and comfort. Hospitality is in short supply here; where are the "Innkeepers"?
Upon arrival, we walked around the beautiful common area looking to check in. The Innkeeper of the day was on her computer, finally saying "I should stop being rude to you now" and proceeded to do an adequate job of check-in- never to be seen again. In fact in the two days of our stay we did not see the same person twice. The hopitality like the decor seemed a bit staged. The real disappointment came in the comfort of the stay. The air-conditioning is a constant annoyance that made it almost impossible to sleep. The sinks in both the rooms we stayed in had cracked bowls. The paint is peeling on the baseboard in our current room. The door threshold in the suite room has a protruding finish nail that can do serious damage. In general the breakfast was good and the morning staff was pleasant. The location has a nice neighborhood, but is not in practical walking distance to the main attractions. We have a lot of experince with B&Bs and are sorry to write this kind of review, but the Pomegranite is overpriced, lacks welcoming spirt and hospitality. We cannot recommend a stay here and would not come back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    40
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
201
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We were impressed on arriving and entering this beautiful house. The communal areas are furnished and decorated to a very high standard and we were welcomed by a very friendly host. We were a bit disappointed though to see our room which was very small given the price (about $200) with just enough room for the bed and a sofa squashed into the corner. The bathroom was also small but adequate. In fairness, we had asked for a cheaper room as we were only staying 1 night so the others may be better.

What really would prevent us staying there again was the air conditioning unit - being a small room and a hot day this needed to be on all night to stop us roasting, but it was incredibly noisy and kept revving up intermittently waking us up. This needs to be replaced asap!

The other drawback was that I hadn't realised just how far the shops and restaurants of old harbour were from the inn - it is a good 20min walk through some uninteresting residential areas to get to the edge of the action meaning we got a cab back from the restaurant.

In summary, with better a/c and a bigger room this could be an excellent inn, albeit a little far away from the centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I loved this B&B! The decor was so charming. The bed we slept on was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. We stayed in room 7 or 8 (can't remember) it is the original suite of the house. I felt very much at home and sometimes wanted to stay in the room instead of going out. The cook, I forgot his name, was amazing and very friendly. He gave us a lot of information and advice about the many delicious restaurants in the area. When I go back to Portland, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

The staff was very friendly and upon arrival we were served coffee, tea, and cookies. While this was nice, there were things that we did not like about this B&B. First of all, there is some really interesting art in the house, but in fact the amount of art is overwhelming. There is every type of art imaginable, but rather than having a nice eclectic feel, it actually feels crammed. There is stuff everywhere, in the whole house, in all the rooms. Like another reviewer said, it is dusty. I'm sure they do their best to keep it clean, but with that amount of stuff crammed in, there is no possible way to keep it dust free. Secondly, we did not find our room to be very pleasant. We stayed in room #3. You can see pictures on the website, so we knew what it would look like when we booked. However, it was, like the rest of the house, crammed with stuff and I felt claustrophobic in it. Also it is on the 3rd floor of the house. We did not have the heat on in our room, but it was sweltering, with all the heat rising up from the rest of the house. With the window open you can hear the noise of the fog horn from a lighthouse, so we were either stuck with the heat or with the noise. We would not stay here again, and would only recommend if you want to stay in a very quirky place - keep in mind that it looks nicer on the website.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inkpr, General Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
We are very sorry that your stay at the Pomegranate was not as enjoyable as you had hoped. The Pomegranate Inn is definitely a whimsical and art filled property with an extensive collection. We do apologize for any dustiness that you experienced. This is unacceptable and will be addressed. We hope that the next time you are in Portland, you will consider our sister property, the Danforth Inn-the style is very different and may well be more in line with your taste. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

It's rare on a business trip to leave more refreshed and invigorated than when you started, but our stay at the Pomegranate left us trying to find more reasons to stay!

The location is perfectly situated in a quiet, residential-feeling setting that instantly makes you feel like a local. The staff knows when to be of help, and when to somehow disappear when not needed. Breakfast was lovely and the rooms were refreshingly light and comfortable.

Everything you hope an upscale New England inn will be... while surpassing in comfort, aesthetics and professional staffing.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

We live in Boston and had been contemplating an overnight stay at the Pomegranate Inn for awhile. However, the Inn was sold out every time I wanted to book a room! We were finally able to get a room there for a mini-getaway after a hectic Thanksgiving. The Inn itself is charming, comfortable, and decorated in an eclectic and fantastical way. It was pouring rain when we arrived, and we were very happy to see hot tea and fresh baked bread awaiting guests after check in. Our room (#4) was huge and beautifully decorated - my husband and I wanted to move in! It was spotless, and had a cozy fireplace that we could turn on with the press of a button. The bed was very comfortable, and most importantly, the Inn has down pillows that are nice and squishy. Breakfast the next morning was tasty and filling. It was nice to see other guests at breakfast, (since I dislike staying at b&b's that make you feel like you are alone in a stranger's home) but, my one complaint is that the breakfast area was mostly comprised of a large communal table - causing people to make forced breakfast chit-chat. I would prefer the option of having a leisurely breakfast with the person/ people I came there with. But, other than that - everything about this place is top-notch. While the location is not "downtown" Portland is a very small city, and the Inn is located in a very pretty historic district with a lot of charm.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

This is a top-notch bed and breakfast with unique and comfortable rooms. The food and coffee are excellent. Our second morning, the chef made a creation of his, Eggs Benedict with orange faux Hollandaise sauce, that was exquisitie. I disagree with the reviewer who said this inn is too far from everything. We found it to be walking distance from most of Portland's finest restaurants. A five minute drive will have you parked next to Casco Bay downtown. My only complaint is that the TVs are old and small. But who wants to waste a vacation inside their hotel room, no matter how nicely appointed (and all of the other furnishings are wonderful)? If you're looking for a perfect spot to stage your Portland, ME trip, the Pomegranate Inn is the place.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pomegranate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomegranate Inn

Address: 49 Neal Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arty and eclectic boutique Portland Maine inn. An exceptional art collection blends with thoughtful, gourmet breakfasts and a truly unique vibe. Housed in a three-story Italianate mansion dating from 1889, Pomegranate Inn is like no other Bed & Breakfast you've experienced. Contemporary mixes with traditional in the inspired setting of Portland's lovely West End. Close to this vibrant New England city's Arts District and bustling Old Port, yet quietly set among lovely homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pomegranate Hotel Portland
Pomegranate Inn Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomegranate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.