We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercury Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mercury Inn to your Saves list
Mercury Inn
273 State Street, Portland, ME 04101 (Formerly Parkside Parrot Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I had a very nice stay at the Mecury Inn this weekend. We highly recommend the Inn if you are visiting Portland. The Inn was very comfortable and cozy and the breakfast offerings were delicious. The menu included many locally sourced breakfast items. I love the Inns sustainable environmentally friendly emphasis! The location is very walkable to many of Portlands attractions.

Green Features: The Inn keepers are very mindful of environmentally friendly practices ... very important to us.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived early at this B&B and were welcomed by Tim who showed us to our room. He gave us lots of information about the B&B, the area, restaurants etc. We could walk everywhere and it took about 10/15 minutes to get to the main Portland area. The B&B decor was modern and comfortable with places to sit and relax other than your room. Early morning coffee and tea was provided in the upstairs lounge. Our hosts had clearly done a lot of research on being as environmentally friendly as possible which was a refreshing change. The breakfasts have been well documented and I can only support the previous comments. I really liked the communal seating arrangements in the breakfast room and the detail given to the sourcing of the food. Plenty to choose from and a homemade hot dish daily. Tim and Jake have got this place spot on!

Room Tip: Room 3 was a little on the compact side (the bathroom was huge) but fine for a 1 or 2 night stay. Th...
See more room tips
Green Features: We liked the idea of not having our room made up daily and supported the owners environmental policies.The communal breakfast eating idea was a pleasure and information about the source of the food was inspiring.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just moved to Boston from Austin and my boyfriend suggested we take a weekend trip to Portland. Googling B&Bs was a little scary as just about all of them looked like (no offense to anyone) old lady houses. I stumbled upon this one and was so glad we booked it. Yes the front of the building isnt exactly the newest looking on the block but we both loved it and the innkeepers did such a great job of decorating the interior space. This is only the second B&B ive stayed at so I actually enjoyed that we were kind of left on our own for most things. I didnt feel like i was staying in someones home and bothering them. Tim came into the dining room every morning to just say hello and we chatted with him for quite a while regarding places to eat/things to do it portland. he was super helpful. the breakfast was soooo good! nothing really fancy but definitely really good quality and all locally sourced - and freshly made every day. Overall it was a really great experience and we've already talked about our next trip back where we will definitely be staying at Mercury Inn assuming word hasnt gotten out and they're prebooked for months out .

Room Tip: some room's bathrooms are located across the hall from the rooms so be sure you realize which ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were looking for a cozy place after getting married in Bar Harbor. This was a great find to say the least. The bed and breakfast was extremely clean and well kept. The breakfast was very good. The owners were very attentive and helpful whenever they could be. I liked the location as it wasn't directly downtown, but still had plenty of areas to eat just a couple blocks away. We will definitely be back the next time we come to Portland.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington VT
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We stayed one night at the Mercury Inn. The price was reasonable for downtown Portland, it was just a short walk to the arts district, and the room was very clean and stylish.

We took advantage of the common room to enjoy tea and cookies by the gas "woodstove". The decor was lovely.

The house is an old Victorian, and the heating system had a tough time reaching our room. Tim and Jake brought a portable heater which did the trick - we were toasty. We were on the third floor; we were traveling light so it was easy to carry our things upstairs but note that there's no elevator in the house.

The bathroom was huge and very clean, with nice decorative details.

The parking area isn't large but the innkeepers have what seems to be a workable system for accommodating cars. We had other plans for breakfast so we didn't eat at the inn.

We would happily stay at the Mercury Inn again.

Room Tip: Room 7 has sloping ceilings - my 6' tall companion had to duck a few times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

The fellas did a really nice job with local food and coffee. The room was cozy and clean. I would stay here again and recommend others to as well. This stay allows one to see Portland from a locals perspective. A great farmers market at the park at the end of the street.Bike rentals for guests would help commute to downtown.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

I will admit that I am not the type of person who would typically seek out a B&B for my travel accommodations - The concept is unfamiliar to me and has always seemed a bit odd.

However, I can say that the Mercury Inn defeated that preconception. This was, hands-down, the most enjoyable away-from-home stay I have ever experienced.

From the moment you walk in the door, it is apparent that every last inch of this place is overcome with personality and thoughtfulness. The Innkeepers, Tim and Jake, are helpful, friendly, and personable, without being intrusive or overbearing. Conversation with total strangers isn't always something that comes naturally or comfortably, but these two make you feel welcome and at home from the moment they open the door to greet you.

The inn itself is beautiful - beautifully furnished and decorated, with a clear theme and a commitment to sustainability right down to the last detail. The rooms are devastatingly clean and are just as big as they need to be. The size of each room varies, so there's something for everyone.

Now, this is really important - the food. all locally sourced. deceiving in its apparent simplicity - Each bite is memorable. The food is fresh, delicious, and filling. To have a meal that is completely locally, sustainably sourced, and made with very apparent skill and care, is an experience that, of itself, warrants the cost of a visit (a price which is, by the way, highly competitive). The cabot greek yogurt served in mason jars with maple syrup - I could eat it every day for the rest of my life, and be happy. seriously.

The inn is situated nearly perfectly. It's close to the heart of portland. Anything you could want to do or see is within walking distance. Even so, it is situated in a neighborhood that is a bit quieter, making this place really feel like home when you're ready to turn in for the night. Tim and Jake are intimately familiar with the city, and have fantastic suggestions for sights to see, food to eat, and things to experience.

I say this without reservation - When in portland, I wouldn't dare stay anywhere else.

Green Features: This is their cornerstone. environmentally friendly soaps, sustainable and environmentally conscious cleaning practices/supplies, local and organic food, recycling, even their facilities and materials are environmentally friendly. They didn't put it in their header for nothin'
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Inn

Address: 273 State Street, Portland, ME 04101 (Formerly Parkside Parrot Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercury Inn is a modern, sustainable inn in the heart of downtown Portland. Featuring locally-sourced breakfast made fresh every morning in-house, Mercury Inn is welcoming destination for any kind of traveler. Each guest room has been carefully designed to compliment the unique character of this classic Victorian building that has been welcoming travelers for over 20 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Mercury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Iris Hotel Portland
Mercury Inn Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.