We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky inn with character, conveniently located, great breakfasts.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercury Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mercury Inn to your Saves list
Mercury Inn
273 State Street, Portland, ME 04101 (Formerly Parkside Parrot Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Belfast, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quirky inn with character, conveniently located, great breakfasts.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The innkeepers, Tim and Jake, provided a fantastic breakfast spread: egg dishes used locally sourced ingredients, strawberry muffins, and yogurt parfaits with local maple syrup.
The bed was comfortable and the linens were spotless. Ironing boards by request.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, you may want to ask for a lower level room.
See more room tips
Green Features: There is no air conditioning in the common areas or hallways. Each room has their own, high-efficiency air conditioning unit. There are signs in the rooms reminding guests that it's more environmentally friendly to turn the ac unit/lights off before leaving the room.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Loved staying here. Awesome location, rooms were perfect..new & clean and the breakfast each morning was delicious! The owners are great and super accommodating to any special requests you might have.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was definitely a "find" for our 3-day weekend trip to Portland. The price is much less than what you will pay for other accommodations in that area, so it is certainly a value.

Some of the unique little bits are: the green practices, the cute an authentic World War 2 Commissary table at breakfast, the old meets new decor, among other .

It's not that there were zero flaws - it's a rather old house with some quirky oddities and room for renovations in various . But the bottom line is, part of the APPEAL of staying at a B&B is the quirky little personal pieces that stay in your memory long after your trip.

Overall

Room Tip: Definitely choose room 4. It's the largest one and the sitting / lounging area by the window is...
See more room tips
Green Features: You will notice the innkeeper's commitment to being environmentally friendly as soon as you walk in. Locally sourced food, recycling bin in the rooms, and natural soaps, among others.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed at the Mercury Inn in June. The rooms were nice and had a very quaint New England feel - the exact thing I'm looking for in a B&B. The breakfast spread was delicious and I looked forward to the yogurt dish every morning. Plus the baked strawberry cobbler was amazing!

I stayed in a larger room with a king size bed, window bed/seat and private bathroom. The room was quiet and I loved that it had well working WIFI and AC. The bed was comfortable and was topped with lots of cozy blankets.

The inn is also close to local restaurants so it was very easy to walk to and from dinner. I also liked they had parking on premises so I didn't have to worry about street parking.

I would highly recommend staying at the Mercury Inn if you are looking for an affordable and quaint B&B experience.

Room Tip: There is not elevator in the house so you will have to walk up 1 or 2 flights of stairs to get to yo...
See more room tips
Green Features: They provided eco friendly bath products and used energy saving AC's.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Perhaps nice for hipsters that don’t appreciate service, but definitely not for us an older couple.
Very tiny room and no one to assist you with luggage. The common space doesn't offer much comfort. This inn is in need of help big time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were amazed at how lucky we were to find a place so close to everything, and to not be robbed blind when booking. After staying we realized how more amazing it was that the price was so reasonable. Our room was very nice, the 2nd floor lounge was a nice touch along with brochures of local attractions. Tim and Jake were very gracious hosts, the breakfast every morning was different from the usual coffee and danish. I enjoyed the healthy and tasty choices available. Also enjoyable was the stress-free parking. We parked on arrival and didn't need the car again until we checked out. There some small things that could have been better, but not substantial enough to complain about. Overall, a pleasure to stay here. Would definitely do it again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed @ Mercury for one evening, and we found the inn to be very nice, although it lacked a few amenities that we had seen at other bed and breakfasts. Our room was a little tight with the slanted ceiling, but the spacious private bathroom was very nice, although it got quite steamy in there. We took advantage of the tea in the communal area, but found it to be less inviting than other communal areas we've seen in other B&B's. No snacks either!

The breakfast was good, with great coffee, delicious bread, yogurt, and a nice baked egg dish. We were a little confused as to why there was no juice or fresh fruit provided.

Overall, we had a nice experience, and cost effective, given the lower room rate than other local B&B's.

Room Tip: Room #7 was a little tight for two people, especially with the double bed. The slanted ceiling real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Press Hotel
The Press Hotel
#2 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Inn

Address: 273 State Street, Portland, ME 04101 (Formerly Parkside Parrot Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercury Inn is a modern, sustainable inn in the heart of downtown Portland. Featuring locally-sourced breakfast made fresh every morning in-house, Mercury Inn is welcoming destination for any kind of traveler. Each guest room has been carefully designed to compliment the unique character of this classic Victorian building that has been welcoming travelers for over 20 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Mercury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Iris Hotel Portland
Mercury Inn Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.