We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pick!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercury Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mercury Inn to your Saves list
Mercury Inn
273 State Street, Portland, ME 04101 (Formerly Parkside Parrot Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hopewell Junction, New York
1 review
“Great pick!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Loved staying here. Awesome location, rooms were perfect..new & clean and the breakfast each morning was delicious! The owners are great and super accommodating to any special requests you might have.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was definitely a "find" for our 3-day weekend trip to Portland. The price is much less than what you will pay for other accommodations in that area, so it is certainly a value.

Some of the unique little bits are: the green practices, the cute an authentic World War 2 Commissary table at breakfast, the old meets new decor, among other .

It's not that there were zero flaws - it's a rather old house with some quirky oddities and room for renovations in various . But the bottom line is, part of the APPEAL of staying at a B&B is the quirky little personal pieces that stay in your memory long after your trip.

Overall

Room Tip: Definitely choose room 4. It's the largest one and the sitting / lounging area by the window is...
See more room tips
Green Features: You will notice the innkeeper's commitment to being environmentally friendly as soon as you walk in. Locally sourced food, recycling bin in the rooms, and natural soaps, among others.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed at the Mercury Inn in June. The rooms were nice and had a very quaint New England feel - the exact thing I'm looking for in a B&B. The breakfast spread was delicious and I looked forward to the yogurt dish every morning. Plus the baked strawberry cobbler was amazing!

I stayed in a larger room with a king size bed, window bed/seat and private bathroom. The room was quiet and I loved that it had well working WIFI and AC. The bed was comfortable and was topped with lots of cozy blankets.

The inn is also close to local restaurants so it was very easy to walk to and from dinner. I also liked they had parking on premises so I didn't have to worry about street parking.

I would highly recommend staying at the Mercury Inn if you are looking for an affordable and quaint B&B experience.

Room Tip: There is not elevator in the house so you will have to walk up 1 or 2 flights of stairs to get to yo...
See more room tips
Green Features: They provided eco friendly bath products and used energy saving AC's.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Perhaps nice for hipsters that don’t appreciate service, but definitely not for us an older couple.
Very tiny room and no one to assist you with luggage. The common space doesn't offer much comfort. This inn is in need of help big time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were amazed at how lucky we were to find a place so close to everything, and to not be robbed blind when booking. After staying we realized how more amazing it was that the price was so reasonable. Our room was very nice, the 2nd floor lounge was a nice touch along with brochures of local attractions. Tim and Jake were very gracious hosts, the breakfast every morning was different from the usual coffee and danish. I enjoyed the healthy and tasty choices available. Also enjoyable was the stress-free parking. We parked on arrival and didn't need the car again until we checked out. There some small things that could have been better, but not substantial enough to complain about. Overall, a pleasure to stay here. Would definitely do it again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed @ Mercury for one evening, and we found the inn to be very nice, although it lacked a few amenities that we had seen at other bed and breakfasts. Our room was a little tight with the slanted ceiling, but the spacious private bathroom was very nice, although it got quite steamy in there. We took advantage of the tea in the communal area, but found it to be less inviting than other communal areas we've seen in other B&B's. No snacks either!

The breakfast was good, with great coffee, delicious bread, yogurt, and a nice baked egg dish. We were a little confused as to why there was no juice or fresh fruit provided.

Overall, we had a nice experience, and cost effective, given the lower room rate than other local B&B's.

Room Tip: Room #7 was a little tight for two people, especially with the double bed. The slanted ceiling real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Jake and Tim are amazing and sweet. We walked everywhere and the inn was in a wonderful location to do that. We stayed in two different rooms on two different nights, bookending a trip up further north into Maine. The smaller room had its own private bath but it was outside the room. No big deal, though we were spoiled from staying in the two-room suite with private bath the first night. Pro tip: the hot and cold faucets are reversed in the small room's bath, and the bath plug was missing - no worries, I made a makeshift tub stopper out of one of the provided eco drinking cups and a washcloth, because I'm the MacGuyver of baths (I just checked and that's something that's never been said on the internet before). But enough about me. Go to Portland because it rules. And when you go there, stay here.

Room Tip: Go for the suite! And if you end up in the small room, remember my tips about the bath!
See more room tips
Green Features: Kudos to Jake and Tim for their commitment to sustainability. I'd like to see them go one step further and source their bath products from local makers.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mercury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Inn

Address: 273 State Street, Portland, ME 04101 (Formerly Parkside Parrot Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercury Inn is a modern, sustainable inn in the heart of downtown Portland. Featuring locally-sourced breakfast made fresh every morning in-house, Mercury Inn is welcoming destination for any kind of traveler. Each guest room has been carefully designed to compliment the unique character of this classic Victorian building that has been welcoming travelers for over 20 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Mercury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Iris Hotel Portland
Mercury Inn Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.