We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, reasonable rates, great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercury Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mercury Inn
Save
You added Mercury Inn to your Saves list
273 State Street, Portland, ME 04101 (Formerly Parkside Parrot Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, reasonable rates, great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were amazed at how lucky we were to find a place so close to everything, and to not be robbed blind when booking. After staying we realized how more amazing it was that the price was so reasonable. Our room was very nice, the 2nd floor lounge was a nice touch along with brochures of local attractions. Tim and Jake were very gracious hosts, the breakfast every morning was different from the usual coffee and danish. I enjoyed the healthy and tasty choices available. Also enjoyable was the stress-free parking. We parked on arrival and didn't need the car again until we checked out. There some small things that could have been better, but not substantial enough to complain about. Overall, a pleasure to stay here. Would definitely do it again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed @ Mercury for one evening, and we found the inn to be very nice, although it lacked a few amenities that we had seen at other bed and breakfasts. Our room was a little tight with the slanted ceiling, but the spacious private bathroom was very nice, although it got quite steamy in there. We took advantage of the tea in the communal area, but found it to be less inviting than other communal areas we've seen in other B&B's. No snacks either!

The breakfast was good, with great coffee, delicious bread, yogurt, and a nice baked egg dish. We were a little confused as to why there was no juice or fresh fruit provided.

Overall, we had a nice experience, and cost effective, given the lower room rate than other local B&B's.

Room Tip: Room #7 was a little tight for two people, especially with the double bed. The slanted ceiling real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Jake and Tim are amazing and sweet. We walked everywhere and the inn was in a wonderful location to do that. We stayed in two different rooms on two different nights, bookending a trip up further north into Maine. The smaller room had its own private bath but it was outside the room. No big deal, though we were spoiled from staying in the two-room suite with private bath the first night. Pro tip: the hot and cold faucets are reversed in the small room's bath, and the bath plug was missing - no worries, I made a makeshift tub stopper out of one of the provided eco drinking cups and a washcloth, because I'm the MacGuyver of baths (I just checked and that's something that's never been said on the internet before). But enough about me. Go to Portland because it rules. And when you go there, stay here.

Room Tip: Go for the suite! And if you end up in the small room, remember my tips about the bath!
See more room tips
Green Features: Kudos to Jake and Tim for their commitment to sustainability. I'd like to see them go one step further and source their bath products from local makers.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Look no further. Tim and Jake are wonderful hosts. The house has been renovated wonderfully with a hip, clean, modern aesthetic. The breakfast is delicious (and locally-sourced, of course)! Location is very good, a short walk from terrific restaurants and from the historic downtown port. We will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Thoroughly deserves the good praise shared by other reviewers. The rooms are really nice, the breakfast is excellent and Tim & Jake have put a lot of thought into the whole set-up.

The only thing missing (according to my wife) was a full length mirror. Personally, I was happy to use the bathroom mirror. Just saying....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a great three night stay at the Mercury Inn. Jake & Tim were both so friendly and were always available if anything was needed. We stayed in room IV, it was bright and clean and had everything you might need (except a mirror! I would have liked a mirror as our bathroom was down the hall). The common room was also beautiful and offered a great space to read and relax. The location of the inn was great for us, we walked everywhere and didn't find it too far from anything. Breakfast was so delicious - every morning offered a variety of tasty items to choose from (including fresh juice)! Overall it was a great stay, we would definitely stay again and recommend it to others!

Room Tip: Room IV was a large room with a great king sized bed. It was a bit noisy with the windows open, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a fabulous 2 night stay at the Mercury Inn. Jake and Tim are fantastic innkeepers who are very attentive but unobtrusive. The breakfast is wonderful: local honey and yogurt, homemade granola and bread and one morning a ramp strata. The rooms are darling -- simple and clean with nice linens, to boot. The common area on second floor is relaxing and well-designed: think modern Danish with some well-selected Ikea. Location is also fabulous -- right near a large park with a weekly farmers market in one direction and good restaurants and shops up the hill in the other direction. The Mercury Inn has admirable dedication to the environment, as well.

Only concerns were the low-tech and problematic on-line reservation system, though Jake and Tim are aware of this and are improving it asap. Might even already be fixed. Our room (the double) had no closets or even hangers, so if you need to hang clothes ask for a room with a closet.

Overall, we highly recommend the Mercury Inn. We will be returning!!

Room Tip: Ask for one with closets if you need to hang clothes. Not all have them!
See more room tips
Green Features: Admirable! We appreciate their support of the local food system; their recycling and composting, and low-footprint intentions.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Inn

Address: 273 State Street, Portland, ME 04101 (Formerly Parkside Parrot Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercury Inn is a modern, sustainable inn in the heart of downtown Portland. Featuring locally-sourced breakfast made fresh every morning in-house, Mercury Inn is welcoming destination for any kind of traveler. Each guest room has been carefully designed to compliment the unique character of this classic Victorian building that has been welcoming travelers for over 20 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wild Iris Hotel Portland
Mercury Inn Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.