We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercury Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Mercury Inn
Save Saved
You added Mercury Inn to your Saves list
273 State Street, Portland, ME 04101 (Formerly Parkside Parrot Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Pittsburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed @ Mercury for one evening, and we found the inn to be very nice, although it lacked a few amenities that we had seen at other bed and breakfasts. Our room was a little tight with the slanted ceiling, but the spacious private bathroom was very nice, although it got quite steamy in there. We took advantage of the tea in the communal area, but found it to be less inviting than other communal areas we've seen in other B&B's. No snacks either!

The breakfast was good, with great coffee, delicious bread, yogurt, and a nice baked egg dish. We were a little confused as to why there was no juice or fresh fruit provided.

Overall, we had a nice experience, and cost effective, given the lower room rate than other local B&B's.

Room Tip: Room #7 was a little tight for two people, especially with the double bed. The slanted ceiling real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Jake and Tim are amazing and sweet. We walked everywhere and the inn was in a wonderful location to do that. We stayed in two different rooms on two different nights, bookending a trip up further north into Maine. The smaller room had its own private bath but it was outside the room. No big deal, though we were spoiled from staying in the two-room suite with private bath the first night. Pro tip: the hot and cold faucets are reversed in the small room's bath, and the bath plug was missing - no worries, I made a makeshift tub stopper out of one of the provided eco drinking cups and a washcloth, because I'm the MacGuyver of baths (I just checked and that's something that's never been said on the internet before). But enough about me. Go to Portland because it rules. And when you go there, stay here.

Room Tip: Go for the suite! And if you end up in the small room, remember my tips about the bath!
See more room tips
Green Features: Kudos to Jake and Tim for their commitment to sustainability. I'd like to see them go one step further and source their bath products from local makers.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Look no further. Tim and Jake are wonderful hosts. The house has been renovated wonderfully with a hip, clean, modern aesthetic. The breakfast is delicious (and locally-sourced, of course)! Location is very good, a short walk from terrific restaurants and from the historic downtown port. We will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Thoroughly deserves the good praise shared by other reviewers. The rooms are really nice, the breakfast is excellent and Tim & Jake have put a lot of thought into the whole set-up.

The only thing missing (according to my wife) was a full length mirror. Personally, I was happy to use the bathroom mirror. Just saying....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a great three night stay at the Mercury Inn. Jake & Tim were both so friendly and were always available if anything was needed. We stayed in room IV, it was bright and clean and had everything you might need (except a mirror! I would have liked a mirror as our bathroom was down the hall). The common room was also beautiful and offered a great space to read and relax. The location of the inn was great for us, we walked everywhere and didn't find it too far from anything. Breakfast was so delicious - every morning offered a variety of tasty items to choose from (including fresh juice)! Overall it was a great stay, we would definitely stay again and recommend it to others!

Room Tip: Room IV was a large room with a great king sized bed. It was a bit noisy with the windows open, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a fabulous 2 night stay at the Mercury Inn. Jake and Tim are fantastic innkeepers who are very attentive but unobtrusive. The breakfast is wonderful: local honey and yogurt, homemade granola and bread and one morning a ramp strata. The rooms are darling -- simple and clean with nice linens, to boot. The common area on second floor is relaxing and well-designed: think modern Danish with some well-selected Ikea. Location is also fabulous -- right near a large park with a weekly farmers market in one direction and good restaurants and shops up the hill in the other direction. The Mercury Inn has admirable dedication to the environment, as well.

Only concerns were the low-tech and problematic on-line reservation system, though Jake and Tim are aware of this and are improving it asap. Might even already be fixed. Our room (the double) had no closets or even hangers, so if you need to hang clothes ask for a room with a closet.

Overall, we highly recommend the Mercury Inn. We will be returning!!

Room Tip: Ask for one with closets if you need to hang clothes. Not all have them!
See more room tips
Green Features: Admirable! We appreciate their support of the local food system; their recycling and composting, and low-footprint intentions.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Warm accommodations in Portland, perfectly located, delicious breakfasts. Admittedly, we were unsure of it when we drove up to the house. However as soon as you walk in the door, you’ll immediately find a peaceful place to call home while in Portland. Jake and Tim have really thought of everything to make your stay perfect, and do so with sustainability in mind. The breakfasts are simply delicious. Fresh and filling, thoughtfully prepared with local ingredients. We will definitely be back to Portland, and we will always book at Mercury Inn.

Green Features: More than a gimmick, Mercury Inn's owners are incredibly knowledgable on sustainability and do not appear to take short cuts for savings.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Inn

Address: 273 State Street, Portland, ME 04101 (Formerly Parkside Parrot Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercury Inn is a modern, sustainable inn in the heart of downtown Portland. Featuring locally-sourced breakfast made fresh every morning in-house, Mercury Inn is welcoming destination for any kind of traveler. Each guest room has been carefully designed to compliment the unique character of this classic Victorian building that has been welcoming travelers for over 20 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wild Iris Hotel Portland
Mercury Inn Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.