We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercury Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mercury Inn to your Saves list
Mercury Inn
273 State Street, Portland, ME 04101 (Formerly Parkside Parrot Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Thoroughly deserves the good praise shared by other reviewers. The rooms are really nice, the breakfast is excellent and Tim & Jake have put a lot of thought into the whole set-up.

The only thing missing (according to my wife) was a full length mirror. Personally, I was happy to use the bathroom mirror. Just saying....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a great three night stay at the Mercury Inn. Jake & Tim were both so friendly and were always available if anything was needed. We stayed in room IV, it was bright and clean and had everything you might need (except a mirror! I would have liked a mirror as our bathroom was down the hall). The common room was also beautiful and offered a great space to read and relax. The location of the inn was great for us, we walked everywhere and didn't find it too far from anything. Breakfast was so delicious - every morning offered a variety of tasty items to choose from (including fresh juice)! Overall it was a great stay, we would definitely stay again and recommend it to others!

Room Tip: Room IV was a large room with a great king sized bed. It was a bit noisy with the windows open, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a fabulous 2 night stay at the Mercury Inn. Jake and Tim are fantastic innkeepers who are very attentive but unobtrusive. The breakfast is wonderful: local honey and yogurt, homemade granola and bread and one morning a ramp strata. The rooms are darling -- simple and clean with nice linens, to boot. The common area on second floor is relaxing and well-designed: think modern Danish with some well-selected Ikea. Location is also fabulous -- right near a large park with a weekly farmers market in one direction and good restaurants and shops up the hill in the other direction. The Mercury Inn has admirable dedication to the environment, as well.

Only concerns were the low-tech and problematic on-line reservation system, though Jake and Tim are aware of this and are improving it asap. Might even already be fixed. Our room (the double) had no closets or even hangers, so if you need to hang clothes ask for a room with a closet.

Overall, we highly recommend the Mercury Inn. We will be returning!!

Room Tip: Ask for one with closets if you need to hang clothes. Not all have them!
See more room tips
Green Features: Admirable! We appreciate their support of the local food system; their recycling and composting, and low-footprint intentions.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Warm accommodations in Portland, perfectly located, delicious breakfasts. Admittedly, we were unsure of it when we drove up to the house. However as soon as you walk in the door, you’ll immediately find a peaceful place to call home while in Portland. Jake and Tim have really thought of everything to make your stay perfect, and do so with sustainability in mind. The breakfasts are simply delicious. Fresh and filling, thoughtfully prepared with local ingredients. We will definitely be back to Portland, and we will always book at Mercury Inn.

Green Features: More than a gimmick, Mercury Inn's owners are incredibly knowledgable on sustainability and do not appear to take short cuts for savings.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This B&B is located a block or so away from a park and a couple of blocks from downtown Portland. The B&B is located on a busy street in a residential neighborhood and was the cause of some street noise in our room. The three-story building is easy to find because there is a large sign in front of the building. The front door is located atop several steep wooden stairs. During our stay, the front door was always unlocked and led to the vestibule. But, that front door led to another door which had a door requiring a key code to get into the entryway of the building. Jake and Tim had permitted us to leave our luggage there in the morning even though check-in was not until about 4 to 7 p.m. This was a huge favor because it was raining that morning.

When we returned to check in at 5 p.m. we were greeted by Jake who showed us to our room. We followed Jake up to the second floor. To the right of the landing was an area containing a computer and guest's car keys on a board with locks. We did not know much about what was going on with the keys because we didn't have a car. There didn't appear to be a printer to print boarding passes.

At the top of the landing was a doorway leading to large living rooms. There is a large living room with couches and oversized chairs to the right. There is also a hot and cold water dispenser there. But, the most impressive aspect of that room was the large bay windows facing the street. The room/area directly in front of the doorway contained two lounge chairs and large expansive windows facing the house next door. Our room faced this room and was accessible via the single key we were provided.

Upon entering the room there was a short hallway to the left leading to the restroom which had a Moby Dick shower curtain. The water pressure and temperature were good in the shower. However, the shower handle was not correctly installed because the display for the hot water resulted in cold water and the display for cold water resulted in hot water. User beware! The room itself contained a queen-sized bed. The head of the bed was next to the large bay window with three panels. There were two closets and a small television sitting on top of a desk. There was an older dresser next to the bed. Drawers were not on rollers or easy to close and open, but they were serviceable. We slept soundly in the bed and the temperature was comfortable in the room even though the heating in the house had been turned off.

Breakfast is served on the first floor in a room with a bay window. The breakfast that Tim prepared was superb and delicious! The second morning we heard them discussing a special request that a guest had because the guest did not eat dairy. Tim prepared a meal without that ingredient. Breakfast is served from 8:30 a.m. to 10 a.m. This breakfast is probably the strongest argument for staying here. The comfortable bed is the second strongest argument for staying here.

When it was time to leave we simply told them we were checking out and that was it! Very smooth. The only wrinkle during our stay is that on the first day while showing us the room, Jake spoke to us as if we were staying only one night and the next morning after breakfast Tim also behaved as if we were checking out when we were simply leaving for the day. Given that this is a B&B, guests shouldn't be made to feel like they are an unwanted imposition.

One side note, my wife and I have stayed in many B&Bs and although the owners were friendly enough, especially Jake, the guests in this B&B were not overly friendly. However, this was my first visit to New England and it could be that that is how people behave around strangers in this part of the country, or it could be that having a minority in their midst may have been a problem. But, I can't say for sure.

Overall, if we were to return to Portland and wanted to stay at a B&B and have a great breakfast instead of staying at a more impersonal hotel closer to the nightlife near the Portland harbor, we would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed here a few weekends ago and it was absolutely wonderful. Everything was clean and the beds were so comfortable. I appreciated the owners' professionalism and they're very nice. I definitely plan on going back.

Room Tip: Live a little - go for the suite!
See more room tips
Green Features: Everything is locally-made or purchased. Even the paint on the walls is earth-friendly.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I had a great time at the Mercury Inn. The innkeepers are wonderful and helpful, the accommodations are great and the inn itself is walking distance from a ton of points of interest in Portland. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room I, loved it!
See more room tips
Green Features: The Inn makes a commitment to sustainability that I found refreshing and effectively implemented.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Inn

Address: 273 State Street, Portland, ME 04101 (Formerly Parkside Parrot Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercury Inn is a modern, sustainable inn in the heart of downtown Portland. Featuring locally-sourced breakfast made fresh every morning in-house, Mercury Inn is welcoming destination for any kind of traveler. Each guest room has been carefully designed to compliment the unique character of this classic Victorian building that has been welcoming travelers for over 20 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Mercury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Iris Hotel Portland
Mercury Inn Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.