We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at St. John

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at St. John to your Saves list
Inn at St. John
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   939 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My stay at Inn at St. John in Portland, Maine was an absolute delight, a beautifully cared for
old Inn with such a wonderful atmosphere. Staff so friendly and helpful. Highly recommended
and I would love to go back.

Room Tip: A room close to Bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    173
    47
    18
    15
See reviews for
43
217
61
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Inn isn't fancy - the decor is a little dated, etc. But it is clean as a whistle, quiet, and very comfortable. And the prices can't be beat. I had a room with a private bathroom, both were pretty big. The staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was your standard continental breakfast hotel fare. All in all, I was very satisfied and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Inn was very clean and staff was attentive. Close to downtown and baseball stadium. Have stayed here several times and will definitely stay here again. The inn is near Dunkin Donuts and the bus station. Very quiet. No problem with noise. Pizza restaurant/sports bar is a nice place to grab a beer and pizza.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Shores, IN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I chose the Inn because it was within walking distance of the Maine Medical Center, where my nephew was scheduled for brain surgery. The staff at St. John couldn't have been any nicer or more helpful as I went through three awful, worriesome days and was responsible for the care of my seven year old great-nephew while his Mother stayed with my nephew in the hospital. The staff all took a personal interest in what our plans were for the day and checked out how we were going to get there. (my great-nephew (Liam and I) They paid attention to Liam and when we came back from some long days, they had cookies and juice ready. How we were doing was of paramount interest to everyone at the Inn. My room was perfect, complete with a note from the maid one day, reminding me to shut my door tightly. I can't begin to thank them enough. Jeffrey in particular was available and so soothing when it came to dealing with a nearly hysterical aunt. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Sue whithead

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry M, Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are pleased you enojoyed your stay with us here at the Inn at St John, We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited Portland in December just before the holidays. The inn was a nice place from which to explore the city. It is near the ma focal center and a short drive from downtown and many good restaurants. Our room was on the first floor off the lobby. A little traffic noise and lights. The room was clean and comfortable. The bath was spacious and well maintained. The lobby offered tea and coffee as well as a small continental breakfast. The cookies were nice and fresh and the breakfast, though uninspired was very convenient and fresh too. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The off season rates were unbelievable. I have recommended the Inn At St John to several friends. A very good value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry M, Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Inn at St John, Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

As you arrive, the location of the Inn may make you have second thoughts - give it a chance and you will be as pleasantly surprized as we were! We booked a superior king room and found it to be comfortable and cozy; the staff was very professional, friendly and willing to advise on restaurants and give directions to attractions. The Inn itself has a very unique character and is very well maintained. They offer a nice continental breakfast with good coffee, juice and delicious, huge muffins. There are a couple of restaurants in the immediate area that are good too. We would definitely rebook for our next trip to the Portkand area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madawaska, Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This Inn has a lot of character. It was built in 1897 and has been kept up.I stayed in room 4A and it was a smaller room with a bath room across the hall. Location is great if you want to see a Sea Dogs game or a Red Claws game or have family at the hospital. The service was good very nice people. The continental breakfast was good for what it was. Fresh fruit and there seemed to be nothing there that was stale like bagels or muffins. If Im going to Portland I will definately stay again. The bed was comfortable I had a very good night sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at St. John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. John

Address: 939 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at St. John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at St. John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John Hotel Portland
Inn At St. John Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at St. John, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.