We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Biz lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David's Restaurant

David's Restaurant
22 Monument Sq, Portland, ME 04101-4082
207-773-4340
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
David's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Preble Street
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great for Biz lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Biz peeps in at lunch. Nicer than other options within few blocks
Tuna tar tar salad w truffle oil is awesome.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    80
    19
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“NYE Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband, parents and I went here for NYE. I made a reservation a week before New Years and luckily was able to get a reservation. A few things we had that were amazing: oysters, crab cakes, filet mignon with blue cheese. Everything was superb. The only complaint would be that our snow peas weren't cleaned correctly and that the creme brulee didn't seem fresh.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Best Chef in Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This triple AAA awarded restaurant was amazing quality for adults and kids a like. Small "European" size dishes that made you feel like you ate without feeling stuffed. Rare top notch olive oil dipped bread that kids loved!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Worth walking to in a snowstorm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I walked across the Old Port to David's while in town for a few days and it was excellent. The portions were perfectly sized and the prices were reasonable for the quality. Our highlights were the tuna tartar, exotic mushroom ravioli, and two tasty desserts. The menu and presentation says fine dining, but the prices and atmosphere are as comfortable as any corner restaurant. The menu also has items like several pizzas, steak, and a burger for the less adventurous.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Had a great anniversary dinner here on a recent trip. Wonderful cocktail selection, service was great and the food was creative and delicious. We look forward to trying the new tasting menu restaurant section on our next visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David's Restaurant also viewed

 
Portland, ME
 

Been to David's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.