We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family outing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Catch Cruises

Lucky Catch Cruises
170 Commercial St., Portland, ME 04101
(207) 761-0941
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 46 activities in Portland
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Lucky Catch Cruises offers 1 1/2 hour lobstering excursions in Casco Bay, Maine. The tours depart from Long Wharf in Portland and operate from the first weekend of May through the last weekend of October. A typical lobster excursion involves pulling eight traps near scenery such as the Portland Headlight Lighthouse, Civil War Fort Gorges and the Seal Rocks. Lobsters can be purchased after the tour for a discounted price and brought to the restaurant next door for cooking. We limit the number of passengers on each boat, so please call ahead for reservations. All the best from Maine!
Lexington, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great family outing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our family took the afternoon Lucky Catch Cruise and had an unbelievable time. The crew was great and extremely knowledgeable often area. They treated our kids like royalty and allowed them to help in every aspect of the trip. We pulled traps, measured lobsters, banded lobsters, baited and reset the taps. My kids (6&9) smiled the whole time.

I told my wife that this was one of the most enjoyable excursions I had ever had on any vacation. I would highly recommend Lucky Catch Cruises for anyone.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    14
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coppell texas usa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Much FUN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My Daughter and I had SO much fun on the Lobster cruise. We didn't catch so many lobster that day. They made sure everyone that wanted to got involved in baiting the traps and pulling up the lobster. The views of several lighthouses from the water was great too!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Knowledge Cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I went on the afternoon Portland Head Light cruise. The captain and his mate were very interesting and taught all of the passengers about lobster fishing with hands on experience. We were not able to complete the entire trip due to rough water from a hurricane out in the ocean. That would be the only bummer. The sites we did see were fine. Being able to purchase the freshest lobster I ever had right off the boat for five dollars a piece was really a treat. We are glad we did the cruise and recommend to everyone.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hands On Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We went on the Seal Cruise and had a wonderful Maine experience. The crew was very knowledgeable and worked well with the young kids. Our cruise was small and very hands on. We worked with the crew hauling in lobsters and refilling the bait. Highly recommended! So glad we did this tour!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Tour -- a must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

This is a MUST DO for anyone in the Portland area. They keep the groups small so everyone can participate. On our trip, there were 10 people total, including the crew. Learned a lot about lobster fishing, and you have the option of buying them at the end. We bought 2 lobsters ($5 each) and brought then to Portland Lobster Company for a lobster dinner. For $10 they cook your lobster, and serve it with corn on the cob, cole slaw and French fries/baked potatoes. What a way to spend an afternoon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Catch Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Lucky Catch Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Catch Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lucky Catch Cruises to your Saves list