We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "cannot miss"B and B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
249 Vaughan Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
"Baked Bean" rates!
Ranked #4 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Mtubatuba, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A "cannot miss"B and B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a "cannot miss" B and B.The Morrill Mansion is simply beautiful!!An olde world charm engulfs you as you enter.Sumptuous furnishings and the most amazing attention to detail makes this home a place one never wants to leave!!David is a most attentive and gracious host and his afternoon teas and breakfasts were superb(my husband is still talking about the salmon soufflé !!!)This is truly 5 star accommodation.Thank you David for sharing your magnificent home and for the amazing 4 days we were privileged to spend there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    22
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
188
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This 1800's townhouse has been restored to have the comforts of modern living and the charm of past times. Located within 10-15 minute walk of where the Action in Portland starts. We stayed for two nights. The room was comfortable, not big yet not too small, right size. In addition to the breakfast-room ( casual ) there are two living rooms where you can read or socialize and have tea, lemonade or snacks any time you want. There is wi-fi service through the house. David, the innkeeper, enjoys his work and he does it well. The breakfast was a lot more than we expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

There are not enough complimentary words to describe our stay at The Morrill Mansion. The B & B itself is warm, inviting and unbelievably cozy. The Innkeeper exceeds expectations and clearly enjoys creating an unforgettable experience for his guests. I'm not sure if I can pinpoint my favorite aspect of the Stay: walking in after a long bike ride to the smell of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies or waking up to lobster eggs and homemade coffee cake. Needless to say we did not want to leave and will be visiting again. Do not miss out on this enchanting B & B! Thank you David

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Morrill Mansion is a wonderful B&B, and if you really love the B&B experience this one should be at the top of your list to visit.

The rooms were meticulous, every detail was attended to. It was clean, cozy, elegantly appointed and quiet.

David, who runs the B&B, is a wonderful host who was very helpful with tourist tips and always friendly and accommodating. He is detail oriented and very organized, two prized characteristics for a B&B owner. The staff followed in that model. The food was excellent (breakfast feature favorite, lobster scrambled eggs!!!) and the kitchen could accommodate my dietary restrictions.

The Morrill is walking distance to everything you will want to see or visit in Portland. The price was fair, especially compared to the big hotels and especially for the quality of service, food and lodging.

If you are a New Englander and need a quick weekend getaway for a night or two, I highly recommend the Morrill Mansion, especially off season (for the best pricing). You will not be disappointed with your stay.

I can't speaking highly enough about the Morrill, if you visit Portland it should be the ONLY place you book your lodging.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, CT
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This B&B is beautifully restored and decorated very nicely. There are extra touches such as afternoon snacks, anytime tea and coffee, wine coolers in the rooms as well as refrigerators and wide screen TVs. It is extremely clean. David is a splendid cook and the breakfasts were much more elaborate than what we expected from the usual Continental breakfast. It's rather more like a breakfast buffet with delicious homemade dishes alongside the usual cereal, fruit, bagels and English muffins. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Manan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great location, ample off-street parking. Host was fantastic. Great common room/living room on second floor - with help yourself pastry, coffee and tea AND SCRABBLE

Room was clean and roomy as was private bath. Stayed 2 nights and would always return. Handy to walking to town

Room Tip: Just ask the host in advance when making reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We totally enjoyed our 2-night stay at Morrill Mansion. We've visited many B&Bs in New England and this ranked as one of the best. The location is in a quiet neighborhood but accessible by foot or bicycle to art district and waterfront - nice to be away from the crowds in August! We especially appreciated the small details that make a B&B special and memorable. Additionally, David offered many gluten-free breakfast choices, which eliminated our worries about getting sick. Having the small refrigerator in-room was helpful as well since we travel with gluten-free food, just in case. Our suite was lovely, very clean, and the bathroom was roomy. David and staff were friendly and accommodating without being intrusive -- a difficult balance in such an intimate atmosphere -- not all innkeepers can accomplish this well. We will definitely stay here again! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 249 Vaughan Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Also Known As:
Morrill Mansion Hotel Portland
Morrill Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list