We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
249 Vaughan Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
"Baked Bean" rates!
Ranked #4 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Grand Manan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great location, ample off-street parking. Host was fantastic. Great common room/living room on second floor - with help yourself pastry, coffee and tea AND SCRABBLE

Room was clean and roomy as was private bath. Stayed 2 nights and would always return. Handy to walking to town

Room Tip: Just ask the host in advance when making reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    22
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
188
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We totally enjoyed our 2-night stay at Morrill Mansion. We've visited many B&Bs in New England and this ranked as one of the best. The location is in a quiet neighborhood but accessible by foot or bicycle to art district and waterfront - nice to be away from the crowds in August! We especially appreciated the small details that make a B&B special and memorable. Additionally, David offered many gluten-free breakfast choices, which eliminated our worries about getting sick. Having the small refrigerator in-room was helpful as well since we travel with gluten-free food, just in case. Our suite was lovely, very clean, and the bathroom was roomy. David and staff were friendly and accommodating without being intrusive -- a difficult balance in such an intimate atmosphere -- not all innkeepers can accomplish this well. We will definitely stay here again! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The best word to describe Morrill Mansion is charming. It has an historic flare without feeling outdated. The innkeeper and staff are professional and extremely helpful with any needs from local tourist hotspots to small chitchat. If you can find room after the amazing breakfast prepared for you in the morning, there will be homemade snack waiting for you in the sitting room each afternoon (I had the best Whoopie Pie of my trip here!) We stayed in the Morrill Suite during our stay. It was beautiful decorated and included a great bed, sitting room and jetted tub. We couldn't have been more thrilled with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We returned to the Morrill Mansion for the first time in four years, and nothing has changed. Everything was excellent. Our room was immaculate, and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was again outstanding -- arguably the best that I have had in a B & B for some time. About the only minor negative is that our bathroom was quite small -- obviously, there are limits to what you can do in an old house. The Innkeeper, David, is extremely friendly, and he adds quite a bit to the overall charm of the place. This place is a real keeper!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

While trying to book a reservation here, I found the owner to be extremely rude and abrupt. During our phone conversation, he immediately hung up after I told him that I couldn't speak more loudly, due to being at work. When I called him back and asked why he'd hung up, he very rudely said that he was busy, trying to check guests in, along with trying to take care of other things. Aside not apologizing, he was so curt in asking what I needed. Of course, I was no longer interested in ever booking here, due to this extremely poor customer service.

Unfortunately, I needed to note that I've stayed here, in order for this post to go through. But, I didn't and wouldn't!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrillMansion, Owner at Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I am very sorry for this experience, and please accept my sincere apology. To be honest, after having asked you 3 times what reservation date I could assist you with, and no reply all 3 times, I assumed that YOU had ended our phone converation. When you called us back (from a different phone number , and assuming not from your work desk ) I could finally hear you but at that point you were irate and only wished to vent. I patiently let you and then thanked you for your call. I would never intentiionly hang up an any guest, or anyone else for that matter. I have owned and operated Morrill Mansion for the past 7 years and strive everyday to make every guest's stay here an enjoyable one. And even though there was this terrible misunderstanding I sincerely hope your stay here in Portland was, or will be, an enjoyable one. With kindest regards, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had an amazing stay at the bed & breakfast. David was very friendly and we instantly felt right at home thanks to all the warm touches and extra details. Breakfast was delightful we really couldn't ask for anything more. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This spotless and tastefully restored mansion was once owned by the founder of B&M Beans and is located hard by the Maine Medical Center on Portland's West End. While it may seem just a tad out of the way, nearly everything on the peninsula is within two or three miles of the place. A number of the city's better restaurants, minor league baseball, grand Victorian neighborhoods and impressive views are just minutes from the front door. The breakfasts are terrific, and owner/inkeeper David keeps the conversation going while offering helpful tips on sightseeing and outdoor activities. We stayed three nights in the first-floor Promenade Suite for $229 per -- a rate comparable with the town's other top-tier B&B's. Portland is quite an impressive, up-and-coming small city and really worth checking out for a couple of days before you head up the coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 249 Vaughan Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Also Known As:
Morrill Mansion Hotel Portland
Morrill Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list