We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caiola's

Caiola's
58 Pine St, Portland, ME 04102-3855
207-772-1110
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 539 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
newport, ri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I really enjoyed Caiola's for dinner. Cozy little place with a nice neighborhood feel rather than on the busy main drag. Definite plus was parking! Host and waitress were super friendly and very attentive. Service was just a bit slow but they were very busy and definately make a reservation....people kept walking in asking for tables and OUR table was ready the moment we walked in with absolutely no delay . Apps were great, dinner was better, and dessert was exceptional. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    58
    20
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Had a fabulous meal here the other night. Reserved a table outside. It was a lovely evening. The service was perfect. There was a small ensemble playing background music. The food was just wonderful. This place is excellent!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Has Gone Downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We remember a better restaurant. It's been a year or so since our last visit, and everything seemd just a bit better last time we visited. Apps: Last time polenta fries were light, crispy, fun. These were chewy, dense, tasted like they'd been sitting for a while. The cheese plate -- nothing special. Did not tell us what the cheeses were. Not enough bread with the cheese plate and what bread came (thin slices of baguette?) was just a little stale. Not nearly enough bread, either. Also, we seem to recall that a bread basket was provided. Not this time (or anymore?). There was also an unidentifiable, watery, not very tasty jam. Crushed nuts did not work with the cheese. The best app was a crispy beef app. Chinese style with chopped cabage, ginger . . . decent portion size. This was tasty. Or maybe this was an entree? Lobster/Shrimp rossejat (sp?) with oven toasted angel hair pasta. Usually with this sort of dish you get plenty of pasta, and on a prior visit a few years back the pasta had a nearly crispy special taste. Not this time. Very little pasta and not special. The lobster was almost underdone. It had a case of slime-osis. Chicken marsala had a nice flavor, but rigatoni with red sauce didn't work with the marsala. One final point: the kitchen was very slow. Apps did not come out at the same time. A two course meal should not take over 2 hours. Granted, it was busy. The waitress just did not have time to spend the attention necessary to provide good service. Obviously rushed. We had some good drinks, and still want to like this place . . . but we won't be back anytime soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, AZ
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good food, try to get a seat in the back patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Excellent food, cozy atmosphere and great service. Love the fact that it is in a historical neighborhood area and that there is a parking lot right next door. Don't miss the caesar salad with spicy oysters - a different and refreshing take on a classic. We sat on the back patio, really pretty with a large tree for shade.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Less Value and Appeal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Have dined here sevaral times each year while vacationing nearby. In 2008, the service, menu and value were much better than my experience this evening. The service was barely cordial, the menu was much reduced in selections and the serving sizes diminutive. We ordered a beet, goat cheese and citrus appetizer that was disappointing w small amounts of chopped beets. It had been sitting in a refrigerator before being served - cold and had that refrig taste. The cheese was not fresh tasting.
Bread consisted of about 5 tiny slices of french bread that was stale tasting (tasted like it had also been refrigerated). In an resh warm bread and olive oil. The busboy seemed to be conserving water and had to be prompted by the waitress to fill our glasses. He did not seem happy doing his job.
My entre was salmon. Cooked perfectly. However, it was on the small size of servings. The accompanying vegetables was a tiny serving of carrots/onions. I left hungry.
My companion's meal was chicken marsala. Also cooked perfectly and a more reasonable sized serving. It was served with a portion of ziti in red sauce which seemed out of character w the chicken marsala.
The dessert menu was placed on the table w/o even one word from the waitress. Like she was passing out a flier. The choices were described with culinary esoterica that annoyed us rather than increasing our interest. After hearing the waitresses explanations, it turned out that it was all uninteresting and totally lacked appeal (to me). I love chocolate but the only option for that was a brownie. Another dessert menu choice mentioned chocolate but was mixed with something that sounded like candy.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caiola's also viewed

 

Been to Caiola's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caiola's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.