We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost sinful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duckfat

Duckfat
43 Middle St, Portland, ME
207 774 8080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $0 - $11
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Port Clyde, Maine
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“almost sinful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Duckfat's fries are simply delicious. I mean memorable, if you're a fry person. And their salads are wonderful and so are their sandwiches. The place is small, so be prepared to wait during busy times, but it's so worth it. Condiments for the fries are specially yummy and unusual so take a risk and try a new one. Did I mention the paninis? Parking in the area is not too difficult, and it's close to Micucci's, Portland's best Italian market. How can you go wrong?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    248
    60
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“French fries and Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great Maine microbrews on tap, delcious tomato fennel soup and grilled cheese on a cold January day. It is small and crowded, so we had to wait for a table but it was worth it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Only had the fries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I only had the fries there but they were really good! I'd completely suggest going to it. It's pretty small so if you're going early try to make a reservation if you can. A friend of mine got a great beer there as well. We knew that they're known for their beer so it's definitely a one stop shop of goodness!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Needed afternoon pit stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Who doesn't like the taste of Duck Fat!? Be honest! Great fries. A local classic I've heard and now I now why. They got really nice condiments. Kind of reminds me of a trip in Belgium when I was a kid.
Great place for a simple lunch or an afternoon snack. Reasonable prices... cheap. Try it, cool easygoing place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Awesome fries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great little place to stop and have snack while you're walking around. Fries are amazing and very filling. DIpping sauces also very good. Have the fries with a local beer for the full experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duckfat also viewed

 

Been to Duckfat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duckfat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.