We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, clean, very helpful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West End Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West End Inn
Save
You added West End Inn to your Saves list
146 Pine Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Last Minute Rates
Ranked #4 of 13 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Beautiful, clean, very helpful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I only stayed at the West End Inn one night, but I wish we could have stayed longer. The Inn was absolutely beautiful, inside and out. The rooms and bathrooms were well kept and very clean. We stayed in the Safari themed room. Deb was very hospitable and took the time to show us everything important in the house and in Portland. She even told us the next morning at breakfast that she had thought of another couple of things for us to do if we wanted. And breakfast was delicious. I definitely recommend the apple crisp with creme fraiche to start and the eggs benedict.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    34
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
167
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I highly recommend staying here. After comparing prices and reviews for pretty much every single bed and breakfast in Portland this was absolutely the best value. On top of that, the service was amazing, the common areas were cozy and the room felt very private. Every detail in the room was thought of. The biggest surprise was how amazing the food was. We walked in to the smell of fresh baked cooked and a fresh pot of coffee.The breakfast in the morning compared with some of the best breakfasts I've had at nice restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed in the Safari themed room and were very comfortable. The Inn is lovely and immaculately clean. Deb and Scott were gracious hosts, offering suggestions for dinner and outings and a great map of the city. Breakfast (with your choice of a savory or sweet entrée! )was by far the best we have ever experienced and we have stayed at many B & B's over the years, included several that are part of the Select Registry. We walked to both of the restaurants where we had dinner (Le Petit Jacqueline and Caiola's) and to the waterfront and Exchange Street. Very reasonable rates for a charming, historic home, comfy bed and a superb breakfast!

Room Tip: The safari themed room is on the quieter side with the morning sunshine. The bathroom across the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We're long-time visitors to Portland and recently returned to the West End Inn after a few years hiatus. The new owners have red-done the Inn and the rooms are bright, clean, comfortable and well-decorated.
The breakfasts were delicious and we loved to return after an outing to the aroma of freshly-baked cookies.
We just caught a glimspse of Scott, but Deb was extremely pleasant and helpful. Nice part of the city with tree-lined streets and older homes.
A lovely place to stay, particularly at the promotional price for weeknights.

Room Tip: The stairs are steep so, if this is an issue, rooms on the second floor are the best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

West End Inn is in a great location, is very charming and homey, and is decorated beautifully.
Deb and Scott couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. Scott, a former restaurant owner makes the breakfasts and does a fantastic job.
I met some lovely people while staying here and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
In my opinion, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

West End Inn is a beautifully detailed, clean, comfortable, homelike b&b. charm all the way. fireplace in the living room, couches you'll want to sit on. heading back there after a day's adventures felt a lot like returning home, maybe because you get a key so you can come and go as you please. service was excellent, they offered lots of helpful ideas -- we were new to the city -- good knowledge about where things were, how to get there, what the deal was with all the places like which coffee roaster to try, how are they different, upscale vs downscale, etc. not the typical useless 'olive garden' info at all.

the other guests we only saw at breakfast and all were respectful, and the hosts had an extremely light touch yet were always at the ready with treats, info, suggestions, help, whatever. the interactions couldn't have gone better. what you get here is the "inn" vibe that you won't get at a corporate hotel. homey is the word, i guess -- it's about scale, smallness, simplicity, hospitality, personalization, comfort, being intelligently humane. you really can't beat it when it's done well, and it's done very well here.

Room: there are six rooms in total, of varying sizes, 4 queens and 2 kings. we got the big blue king on the top/third floor. there were only two rooms up there. obviously it's a very old house (100 years, probably more), and the staircase was narrow and a little creaky but well carpeted. wonderful. everything is fully renovated, thick carpet, wifi, flatscreen, and especially a skylight which was killer, since we could lower the shade for privacy and still have a warm indirect daylight fill the room. lots of extra space in the room with little tables, big chairs, a dresser, lamps, double bath sink, standard tub & shower with a window in the bath too.

the bedroom view overlooked the street and trees, our first afternoon we sat in bed and watched a two-hour blizzard with snowflakes the size of golf balls. it's quiet. the bed was firm, it's a four-poster (i think you have to bring your own handcuffs and chains), and it's kind of high, good for a six-footer like myself so maybe the idea is if you get a king, you're expected to have someone else there to hoist you up. clean, crisp, odor-free, lovely colors.

Breakfast: morning breakfasts in the living room/dining room were part of the package -- cooked to order! real quality food and great choices: omelettes, meats, pancakes, oatmeal, maine maple syrup, you choose from 4 mains plus a little starter - either a juicer juice or the apple crisp which is a must-have, overall it was as good and probably better than any bistro you might find on the outside, fine fine fine, no skimping on anything. at the same time there's also a continental breakfast on the open counter for the granola, yogurt, coffee, juice, etc. a lot of care goes into this, that's easy to see.

Location: West End Inn is in portland's west end, a seemingly up and coming part of town starting to hit its stride. a ten minute walk from the inn gets you to the big thoroughfare known as Congress Street where it intersects with Longfellow Square, a center of activity sort of like where Houston and LaGuardia meet. all kinds of restaurants, cafes, bars, music venues, community centers, thrift shops and a herd of bowery-type bums. but coming from nyc it was more colorful than bother - the annoying people are down here, not there. we can handle winos! it's a great walker's city since it's flat, small and full of good stuff. the feeling of history is everywhere.

the best comparable to the west end might be a mini version of a san francisco neighborhood like noe valley without the hills. small tree-lined streets, very very old beautifully maintained homes, fantastic architecture. a lot of red brick everywhere, shingled roofs. lots of detailing. the main difference from sf might be that the colors are more muted, earthy, befitting the northeast and it's climate and curmudgeonly character. portland is a seaport first and foremost, and the town is dominated by the coast. there are seagulls crying out all over the city. crows too. the city has a fantastic soundtrack.

walking around the west end even in 20 degrees was strangely uplifting. lots of dogwalkers, just a few cars, no commerciality.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a skylight and is very quiet on the top floor, with a great king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had a lovely stay at the West End Inn. Deb & Scott were incredible hosts, as they went above and beyond with their hospitality. The room was great, the food was amazing, and we had an overall excellent time staying. Very close walk to points of interest in Portland as well as many great restaurants. Would recommend to anyone interested in getting the full B&B experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West End Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Inn

Address: 146 Pine Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1871 Georgian Style townhouse in Portland, Maine's, Historic District. The West End Inn offers gracious hospitality and elegance with modern convenience (Cable TV, WiFi, Radio w/ipod dock). Near Arts District, museums, Old Port area and award-winning restaurants. Off-street parking. Short drive to State Parks, lighthouses, lobster pounds, and premium shopping. Fly to PWM, drive 2 hours from Boston or take the train, then relax and enjoy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West End Hotel Portland
West End Inn Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West End Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.