We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend in Portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West End Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West End Inn
Save
You added West End Inn to your Saves list
146 Pine Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Last Minute Rates
Ranked #4 of 13 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful Weekend in Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend away and it was simply perfect. We were up on the third floor, and the room was spotless, well decorated and very comfortable. The common areas are beautiful, warm, and welcoming, with a cozy fireplace in the sitting area. The location is walking distance to several excellent restaurants. Breakfast in the morning was truly outstanding (as was the aroma of homemade blueberry pancakes!), and I appreciated the tea and cocoa available around the clock - a perfect way to warm up after coming in from the cold. What makes this place a real gem is the innkeepers, Deb and Scott, who are extremely gracious hosts. They had great suggestions about things to do around town. Also, we were in Portland during a major winter storm with plenty of snow and strong winds. They really made sure we were okay in the snow and that our car was taken care of during a parking ban due to the storm - including driving us to and from nearby covered parking. Overall, we really couldn't have asked for a better weekend, and hope to return for another visit soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    34
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
167
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights this past weekend. We were very pleased with the helpfulness of the innkeepers, the lovely breakfasts and the overall comfort of the inn. We would certainly consider returning if we come back to Portland for another visit. The west end of town is quite interesting architecturally and makes for an appealing location to lodge for a Portland visit. Obviously, the West Inn Inn is popular as even for a December winter weekend we were lucky to get the last of the six rooms available.

Room Tip: Room Six is on the third floor so book early and avoid having to scale two flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I've stayed at many B&Bs at "home," Canada and abroad and this one is mighty special. From the welcome cleanliness of the common areas and the well-decorated bedrooms to the fine hospitality of our hosts, the room & its location and the outstanding breakfast did not disappoint. The bed was warm & comfy and the bathroom was modern, easy to-use and clean-as-a-whistle. My sister and I went shopping nearby and ate an excellent restaurant a few blocks away. The neighborhood is lovely. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I visited Portland for the first time last weekend and stayed at the West End Inn for two nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay--our room on the 2nd floor was comfortable and quiet, Deb and Scott were extremely helpful with suggestions for activities and restaurants, the extra touches (snacks and drinks) were much appreciated, and the breakfasts were spectacular (the pumpkin pancakes were the best I ever ate)!!! The Inn is beautiful and cozy at the same time. We enjoyed sitting in front of the fire and sharing a bottle of wine with our friends before we went out to dinner--so nice to have the wine glasses and corkscrew available. Little touches like those made our stay very special. We hope to return soon.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for 4 days. We were blown away by the hospitality of the Innkeepers. We had not been to Portland before and Deb was very helpful with maps and recommendations. Breakfasts were outstanding. Our room on the upper floor was lovely and very comfortable. We were able to walk comfortably through the neighborhood to the Port area and to the attractions in town. We are certainly going back to Portland and would definitely plan on staying at the West End Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the West End Inn for the first time last weekend. The pictures on the website are exactly what you see. The neighborhood and area were very nice. When we arrived we were greeted by Deb. The common space and breakfast area were very beautiful and I couldn’t wait to get up to our room. Deb explained when breakfast would be served and pointed out that there was seltzer water in the fridge. Also, there were delicious cookies (I asked for the recipe and Deb sent it to me). Before we went up to our room we talked about places for dinner. Deb spent some time with us and gave us a book that had a number of restaurants with sample menus. She recommended that we go through the book and once we decided to let her know so that she could make reservations. She then escorted us up to our room. It was Room 2 and it was absolutely beautiful. The room was a very spacious, nicely decorated and very cozy and clean. When we went to bed that night the bed was extremely comfortable and the bed linens so very soft. The bathroom was extremely large and bath towels very nice. In the morning coffee was available at 7:00 for early risers. You were given 3 options for breakfast. I had the poached eggs with roasted tomatoes and potatoes. My husband had the blueberry pancakes. The coffee was super delicious. We couldn’t have asked for a better stay. I am very particular and would highly recommend this place. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our first stay at a B&B and the experience couldn't have been better. They were very accommodating from letting us check in early (our room was even ready!) to offering to store our luggage after we checked out since our train didn't leave until the afternoon. The entire Inn is very beautifully decorated and furnished. We stayed in Room 2 which was a corner room on the second floor and very private with nice views of the neighborhood, all with a subtle nautical theme. Additionally, they set out cookies(delicious!), snacks, and seltzer for your pleasure every afternoon. And, of course, as everyone has mentioned, breakfast is absolutely delicious. Our first morning we had the roasted vegetable and goat cheese omelet, and the blueberry pancakes, both being wonderfully flavorful. The second morning I had pumpkin and candied ginger pancakes which were absolutely delicous. So, if you're in Portland and looking for a place to stay that goes above and beyond, look no further!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear David W,
Wow! Thank you for the glowing review. We are very happy you enjoyed staying at the West End Inn and enjoyed your visit to Portland. Thanks too for your enthusiastic recommendation of our establishment on Tripadvisor.
All the best to you,
Deb&Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West End Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Inn

Address: 146 Pine Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1871 Georgian Style townhouse in Portland, Maine's, Historic District. The West End Inn offers gracious hospitality and elegance with modern convenience (Cable TV, WiFi, Radio w/ipod dock). Near Arts District, museums, Old Port area and award-winning restaurants. Off-street parking. Short drive to State Parks, lighthouses, lobster pounds, and premium shopping. Fly to PWM, drive 2 hours from Boston or take the train, then relax and enjoy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West End Hotel Portland
West End Inn Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West End Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.