We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sexy hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Portland Harborview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Portland Harborview to your Saves list
The Westin Portland Harborview
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157 High Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Portland
New York,NY
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“sexy hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped here as family was staying here. Very beautiful hotel. Sexy and modern. Rooms were average. Stayed at a diff hotel and preferred the one i was at. But its not bad. Cant speak on the customer service.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWennerstrom157, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thanks for the nice review. I hope to welcome you back to the Westin soon!

Be Well,
Bruce Wennerstrom, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    88
    33
    16
    6
See reviews for
45
95
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are bright, quiet, and clean. The staff is trained to perfection. The top floor bar is a fun place on both the quiet nights and the busy nights. The food in the restaurant is very good. The only challenge is parking. If you use the Valet, plan on 30 minutes to get your car back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWennerstrom157, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Westin and that Congress Squared and Top of the East added to a great experience! We appreciate your feedback and I will address your comments regarding valet with our team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Portland soon!

Be Well,
Bruce Wennerstrom, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They did a great job remodeling this hotel, it is absolutely beautiful! The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. It is located perfectly in town Portland, you can walk just about anywhere: local shopping, local restaurants: seafood? Pizza? Thai? Italian? It's all right here along with the historic State Theater and Portland Museum of Art. And although the
Top of The East is on the 16th floor a nice place to have a cocktail with breathtaking views of the city there is no shortage of nightlife in the area. Portland offers something for everyone and The Westin is just the place to rest your head when you are through exploring the City.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWennerstrom157, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for your kind words. Come back soon!

Be Well,
Bruce Wennerstrom, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery Point, Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel with great staff making you feel welcome and being helpful at every opportunity. They have valet parking and you can come and go, but they also have a shuttle van that will run you around the city and/or pick you up if you need a ride back home. Lots of the time Portland had wonderful weather but sometimes Portland can be nasty. Rain, cold, snow, ice, wind, all that stuff. Nice to know that you can get a ride and its all part of the stay.

And do check out the Top of the East on the 15th floor, Great drinks and great view over the harbor. We had a debate about what might be the best time, day or night?

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room not next to the elevator. Its not bad, but it can be disturbing. But its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWennerstrom157, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Westin. We look forward to your next visit!

Be Well,
Bruce Wennerstrom, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has been around forever. It is now a Westin (Starwoods property). We tend to stay at a Westin or Element when we travel. Although Portland has a bunch of great restaurants we wound up eating at the hotel and having drinks up in the new lounge on the top floor overlooking the city.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWennerstrom157, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Westin and were able to experience Congress Squared and Top of the East Lounge. Please come back soon!

Be Well,
Bruce Wennerstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We live in Portland and go away for three days every year for Thanksgiving. This year we decided to stay in Portland. We've had some mini-vacations at several hotels in the Old Port, but hadn't stayed at the new Westin so we went downtown one day to look at some rooms and have lunch at their restaurant, Congress Squared. The food was very good, and the service was even better. Our server, Spencer, was outstanding. The next day we made our hotel and Thanksgiving dinner reservations.

We stayed three nights in a King suite that was attractive and comfortable. When we checked in, we realized the refrigerator wasn't cold. A short time after a call to the concierge one of their engineers (Ron) brought up a replacement fridge. Ron was efficient and friendly. Service at this hotel is impressive.

Prior to our visit I had called about Thanksgiving dinner and talked to Michelle. She arranged to have the menu emailed to me. Michelle was working in the restaurant on Thanksgiving day. The dinner was so good, but we were too full for dessert. Michelle brought our dessert, along with silverware and napkins, on a tray for us to take to our room. Again, we were impressed.

During our 3-night stay, we walked to two of our favorite restaurants, the Green Elephant and Zapoteca. We had drinks twice at the beautiful rooftop lounge Top of the East, and we had happy hour one night at Congress Squared. Our bartender, Jacqueline, was super. The Westin was all that we hoped for--a nice room, wonderful food and great service and just a short taxi ride from home.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWennerstrom157, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are thrilled to have been part of your Thanksgiving celebration. I am so glad that our associates made such a positive impression and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Be Well,
Bruce Wennerstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I, along with our two Basset Hounds (yes, it is a pet-friendly hotel!) stayed just one night at the Westin and were delighted with our stay. The location of the property is ideal for exploring hip and happening Portland with many restaurants, pubs and art galleries just steps away. Our pups loved their own Heavenly doggie beds just as much as we enjoyed our human size ones! Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful including valets, housekeeping and the front desk.

The hotel also has a great lounge on the top (15th) floor with fabulous views to go along with an interesting cocktail and small bites menu. It was very busy the night we were there, but were still able to find a seat quickly and the service was very prompt even with the crowd.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Portland Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Portland Harborview

Address: 157 High Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Portland Harborview 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Portland Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Portland Harborview Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Portland Harborview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.