We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOP QUALITY RESTAURANT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond's Edge Restaurant

Diamond's Edge Restaurant
Diamond Cove/great Diamond Isl, Portland, ME 04109
207-766-5850
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #277 of 425 Restaurants in Portland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Join us on Great Diamond Island for a truly unique dining experience. Located on the property of historic Fort McKinley overlooking Diamond Cove, Diamond's Edge offers a dining adventure unequaled in Maine. Choose our dining room, our deck, our lawn, or something lighter at our bar.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“TOP QUALITY RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have stayed on the Little Islnad a few Times with Friends..Ex Military Baracks Turned into BEAUTIFUL RESIDENCES for Tourists..

The Restaurant, me in the Summer, on the Water is Splendid..
Quality of Fish.Food Spectacular, in top to the local discheswith LOBSTERTS...Wine assortment VERY GOOD.. Service very Nice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    14
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, TN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Really good (not as excellent as the price would suggest, but really good) food. Great location. Get there early enough to linger over your meal but still be able to make the ferry back. You can only get there by boat!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“what more could you want???”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Whoever complains about the restaurant does not understand the island feel. This place is a perfect combination of classy and island. The food, although expensive, is great. I would love a few more gluten free/vegetarian options if possible. The view was incredible and the smell of the ocean was as delicious as the food! (I got the sole and black rice entree, very good)

The waiters are friendly and attentive. The service was a bit slow but that was only a testament to how popular this place is to both locals and people boating in. Perhaps they were a bit short staffed? Even at the bar, the amazing bar back was very attentive when the bartender was very busy. One of our entrees came in late and they took our drinks right off the check. If this place keeps up its charm, integrity, and friendliness...I think I would be back soon!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Such a mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Fine food in a splendid location, but.... Plastic lawn chairs, a bit too low for the table. We had cocktails, but never had a chanced to order wine. The adorable waiter asked if we wanted another round of cocktails and upon hearing our "no" disappeared. Cream for your coffee arrives, after a special request, in a small plastic portion cup, the same type that held the mini cubes of butter. There were utensil problems throughout the meal.

Avoid tables near the kitchen unless you want to listen to the noise from behind the canvas screen, including the music that drowns out the extraordinary silence the location otherwise offers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I was a little nervous about our reservation at this restaurant based upon recent reviews. We took the 5:45 ferry to Diamond Cove (Casco Bay Ferry) and arrived approximately 30 minutes later at the front door of the restaurant. We were 15 minutes early for our 6:30 reservation but were seated right away. There were 6 of us and we had the table at the end of the porch. Lovely spot.The service was very good. Water glasses kept filled, but not too often. Our requests for drinks and rolls promptly attended to. The salads (green, caesar, duck) were fresh and delicious. The entries (seafood soffrito, Day boat scallops, cheeseburger!) were very good. My scallops were cooked to perfection. We had the limoncello cake and the chocolate mousse for dessert. Light and delicious. The cognacs offered were about double the normal size pour!, which we gladly shared. Sarah was our server and she was attentive yet invisible. Perfect.

The 740pm ferry back to Portland provided a beautiful sunset view of Portland Harbor. Ah, summer in Maine! Perfect.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond's Edge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Diamond's Edge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond's Edge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.