We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative and hip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Lost Bear

Great Lost Bear
540 Forest Ave, Portland, ME 04101-1507
207-772-0300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 539 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Mechanic Falls, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Creative and hip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The food is a bit unusual and delicious and plentiful. Prices are pretty fair. The atmosphere is fun and the staff is attentive and speedy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    50
    30
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Fun Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We keep coming back to The Great Lost Bear because it is a fun place to eat. We have been there many times and it is always been on our "short list" of Portland dining spots. The wall decorations are eclectic and the menu is fun to read. I usually get the fish and chips and it always seems to be good. As another reviewer noted, it is dark in there, so it might take a while to adjust to the low light. All in all, it's just a fun casual place to go. As the jingle goes, "Good times are in the air......at the Great Lost Bearrrr."

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth checking out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

had read reviews so decided to find this restaurant. Was glad it was a Sunday night as didn't have to fight the traffic and found a parking spot beside the restaurant. Was impressed with all the information on the walls. It is a museum!! Hubby was impressed with all the beers and tried the taster sizes as I was driving. He loved the fish and chips that was cooked without the traditional greasy pancake style batter, but was crispy and flavorful. The fries were cut in slices and there was plenty to eat. I had a burger that I hear that they are known for. I like any burger so wasn't impressed either way but it was good. Liked the sliced fries as a nice change. Prices were good, service was excellent and the ambiance was superb. Would go back again if have the chance as the there are many food choices. I think anyone could find something but wished that they had clams! Surprised that they didn't. Worth a try!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Still crazy (and great) after all these years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Lived in the Portland area when the GLB opened, moved away but have dropped by every few years. The menu still is one of the best for vegetarians anywhere. Fun stuff - this time I had the vegetarian patty melt. Absolutely delicious. Husband had the fish and chips. The fish was super - nicely breaded and fried - but the chips a little mundane. My ginger beer was really welcome, and my husband's beer (draft Big Twitch Ale) was the best he's ever had. The service was fine. We ate outdoors on a beautiful day, great shade. Still crazy, still a great lunch spot.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband researched every brew pub and restaurant with a variety of beer selections before our vacation to Maine. This was one of the places we had to go to eat, and we are glad we did. There were olny 2 things that I wasn't crazy about, the location and it was so darn dark in there you could barely see your food. The waitress, Pam, was the best. She heard the slurp of your last drop of beer and was there asking you if you needed another. The beer selection was fabulous, from local Maine breweries and the menu choices were substantial, my burger was so big, my husband ate the other half and the kids macaroni and cheese was not from a box. The waitress was very helpful with recommendations to local shopping, and gave the kids bumper stickers. She was one of the best servers on our trip to Maine. Thanks! the Mingaccis from Philadelphia.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Lost Bear also viewed

 

Been to Great Lost Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Lost Bear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.