We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively restaurant with excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walter's

Walter's
Two Portland Square, Ste 100, Portland, ME 04101-5008
(207) 871-9258
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lively restaurant with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I selected this restaurant on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The decor is modern, the food was excellent - plenty of options on the relatively short menu, from seafood to beef, chicken, and lamb. Interesting wine list, and several draft beers including some local ones are available.. The service was competent and friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    51
    23
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chichester NH
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice evening!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

There is something sparse about the place....I had the pork special..It was good but nothing I couldn't have made at home! I had Gingerbread Pudding for dessert that needed more ginger flavor..But it was very good..My daughter had a chocolate cranberry cake that was to die for! The service was very professional! We enjoyed but I won't hurry back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The Best Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We all got special meals featuring the delicious seafood of the area! They have an outdoor seating area and we enjoyed it very much.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland Center, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great meal with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It had been a couple of years since we were last there, in fact it was last the old place on Exchange St.We went with an open mind and left VERY satisfied. It was a quiet Wed evening, day after the elections and same evening of a Nor'easter. So not very busy when we got there but then a couple of large parties (10-13) arrived for their reservations. As a result the service was just a bit slow, but given the cicumstances it could've been worse. Nonetheless the satff was attentive and the meals were great. The calamari starter is one of the best i have ever had; nice batter with a hint of sweetness, along with a garlicky aioli, and candied jalapeños! Very nice. The duck was perfectly prepared and the bricked chicken was excellent. Sides were spot on a,d the fresh bread and olive were great. We had a great wine, as there are many to choose from, and from a wide range of prices. So all in all, great food and good service, and we will be back... soon!
Only real criticism was that the meal plates were cold sohe entree cooled quickly. Likewise the coffee could have been hotter.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Girls Night Out Dinner - Part 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a wonderful experience! The restaurant was very nice with modern & trendy decor, food selection was unique and varied and the best part - it was damn tasty! I would make a return visit in a heart beat and put Walter's as one of the tops on the recommendation list.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walter's also viewed

 

Been to Walter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walter's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.