We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The North Point

The North Point
35 Silver Street, Portland, ME 04101
+1 207-899-3778
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Description: A visually exciting, warm, upscale dining and drinking experience, minus attitude and pretention. Just delicious, top quality, beautifully presented cuisine, delicious cocktails, twenty three superior wines by the glass or bottle - all of it very affordable, ten beers on tap, and the friendliest staff you'll ever encounter! Quite simply, The North Point is our love letter to Portland! Come and see us soon, find out why Portland is loving us right back! HOURS OF OPERATION: Sunday: Noon-11pm (food until 10pm) Mon: 4pm-11pm (food until 10pm) Tues: 4pm-11pm (food until 10pm) Wed: 4pm-12am (food until 11pm) Thurs: 4pm-1am (food until 12am) Fri: 11am-1am (food until 12am) Saturday: Noon-1am (food until 12am)
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were on a trip from the Northwest. We happened upon this quaint restaurant. Want a find. Art Deco, candle light, and a French inspired menu. Service was spot on and the food was delicious. Packed on a Monday night. Loved it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    35
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
columbia sc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delightful summer supper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Based on reviews on TripAdvisor we chose North Point for our first night in Portland. We had a delicious simple supper sitting at a sidewalk table outside. We split everything we ordered so that we could also enjoy a crepe for dessert. It was a delightful evening with wonderful service including conversation with the owner who was charming. I highly recommend it!
BarbaraG - Columbia SC

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juno Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wine Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

OUtstanding it is on Silver Street an small place get there early for the drink specials and ask the waitress to explain the menu and the portions. Look at the board outside for the specials. Very helpful staff. The owner is an interesting bloke!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The North Point make "CHEERS" look unfriendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Our first night in Portland, we didn't need a full meal. Walking thru the neighborhood North Point looked very inviting. We weren't disappointed. Josh the bar keep and Dan the owner were very attentive. We choose the cheese and meat board and of course, drinks. North Point is a keeper.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect afternoon stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stopped in for drinks and a cheese plate based on the reviews we saw in tripadvisor. Got the benefit of the happy hour prices too! The bartender was very friendly and the wine and beer selections were great. The cheese plate was very tasty with lots of great choices. Rest of menu looked very good as well. Atmosphere is intimate and cozy. Would definitely go back when in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The North Point also viewed

 

Been to The North Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The North Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.