We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch food, environment too loud” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Five Fifty Five

Five Fifty Five
555 Congress St, Portland, ME 04101-3308
(207) 761-0555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Five Fifty Five is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Oak Street
Description: Steve and Michelle Corry, the proprietors of Five Fifty-Five, arrived in Portland armed with a passionate vision and extensive experience in the restaurant industry. Steve began his culinary career as a brew master at several breweries in Northern California. In 1999, he attended the New England Culinary Institute in Burlington Vermont. After graduating in 2001, he returned to California to work at Domaine Chandon in Napa Valley. A graduate of Boston University with a Bachelor's Degree in Hotel and Restaurant Administration, Michelle Corry has worked at numerous prestigious establishments, including the French Laundry in Napa. Together, they have envisioned a dining experience that would combine a comfortable atmosphere, professional service, and fresh, simple, and delicious food sourced locally. Steve and Michelle Corry would like to welcome you to their first collaborative, Five Fifty-Five.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Top-notch food, environment too loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We visited Five-fifty-five on a busy Saturday night. As with most restaurants in downtown Portland, parking was difficult; we had to drive around for a little bit but found a space just across the street from the restaurant.

The menu offers three prix-fixe menus, $50, $65, and $85. I think you can order individual plates of items, also. Drinks were extra, and they added a very hefty amount to the total bill.

The restaurant is owned by a James Beard award-winning chef, and the food offerings were outstanding. The lobster mac-and-cheese was a special treat, and the seared scallops superb. Unfortunately, the restaurant was so loud, we couldn't hear each other talk. All in all, I felt the restaurant was too expensive and too loud.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seamusfinn, Owner at Five Fifty Five, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We do not normally have a problem with the volume, except occasionally when we are very busy. Please let us know next time and we will seat you upstairs, where it is a much more intimate setting.
Thank you,
Michelle Corry,
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    101
    37
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a terrific spot, in a city known throughout the northeast as a great food destination. The service, food and wine are all seamless. We went with the three course tasting, but there are more elaborate tastings-- and of course you can go ala carte. There is also a large bar area, so there may be a bar menu as well. We had an amazing ( and fairly priced) red burgundy that Went well with everyone's dishes. Wow!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Five Stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was, by far, the best meal I have had in years. The corn chowder with a brown butter foam made me want to lick the bowl. The restaurant was really lovely, the waiter was pleasant and engaging but didn't monopolize us. The food was incredible and it was nice to have a waiter who knew wines and was able to make some excellent recommendations. I highly recommend Five Fifty Five for a romantic dinner or special occasion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WoW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We went to 555 last night for dessert only, and after we finished all three of us whole heartedly agreed we NEED to come back for dinner. This restaurant is simply incredible. Although we were seated in the bar, our table was lovely and quaint. Our server was efficient and graceful, and the atmosphere was calm and classy. But the best part of course was the food. Two of us ordered the chocolate turtle souffle, while the third ordered hazelnut and chocolate bread pudding. These souffles were amazing. Served warm from the oven, they were accompanied by a small chocolate turtle, pecan pretzel crumble, and warm chocolate ganache. As for the bread pudding, it was served with frangelico whipped crea and, was moist and light. The portion sizes were perfect, not so large as to be overwhelming and feel glutinous, but not so small as to seem measly. We can't wait to return!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebago, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lives up to its reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We took my aunt and uncle to 555 Restaurant for her 80th birthday. They have several options for ordering. There are 3 and 5 course fixed prices menus and you can order from either. There are also other options such as an 8 course, chef's choice and a wine pairing menu. The atmosphere has been dubbed most romantic by Maine Magazine and it is charming. We knew from other reviews that it would be a bit on the expensive side; but, it was worth it. Our party had both the 3 and 5 course meals and every dish was beautifully presented and delicious. In addition the service was impeccable and warm. Though we made no special request, when my aunt's desert arrived they had piped "Happy Birthday" on her dish, in chocolate. It was a happy ending to a wonderful meal and evening. We made reservations on Open Table for 5:30 on a Friday evening and were happy to have some quiet before it became more busy. They have a good website, with reviews and explanations. It is most worthy of the reviews and awards.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Fifty Five also viewed

 

Been to Five Fifty Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Fifty Five, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.