We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Micro roasted, fair trade coffee.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coffee By Design

Coffee By Design
620 Congress St, Portland, ME 04101-3304
+1 207-772-5533
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: Coffee By Design, a Maine owned and operated coffee company since 1994, is dedicated to changing the world, one cup of coffee at a time by providing customers with sustainably sourced, traceable coffee. Owners Mary Allen Lindemann and Alan Spear were named Maine SBA Small Business Person of the Year, 2014. In addition to serving some of the world's finest coffee, Coffee By Design is committed to running a sustainable business dedicated to the arts, the environment, and the community.
Restaurant details
Description: Coffee By Design, a Maine owned and operated coffee company since 1994, is dedicated to changing the world, one cup of coffee at a time by providing customers with sustainably sourced, traceable coffee. Owners Mary Allen Lindemann and Alan Spear were named Maine SBA Small Business Person of the Year, 2014. In addition to serving some of the world's finest coffee, Coffee By Design is committed to running a sustainable business dedicated to the arts, the environment, and the community.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Micro roasted, fair trade coffee.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stumbled into CBD on Congrees St in Portland. It is not in the best neighborhood and the interior is not particularly fancy yet if you like really really good coffee , this is the place to go. The selection of grains from around the world is impressive and they do their own roasting in the back room. I ordered a latte which was rich and foamy. You can also buy beans to take home. The food selection is small but the almond croissant I had was also delicious. I highly recommend this place and you'll find it much easier to park out front then being on the waterfront.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    20
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Delicious fresh roasted, fair trade coffee. Of the several locations in town I prefer Washington Avenue thanks in great part to the staff. Tessa who I believe is the store manager is steady, bright, friendly and all-around delightful. Kudos to Tiffany who all patrons seem to love.
I go for the Alonzo's Double Dark. It is flat out terrific; strong, bold and potent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The servers here is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to CBD for at least 11 years now & not only is the coffee great but the staff is quirky to the extreme. The key to the bathroom always has something odd attached to it. Once it was a My Little Pony figure! This demonstrates the outlook of these shops; of which there are 3 in downtown Portland & another in the LL Bean flagship store.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellently Roasted Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Tried CBD at Congress, India, and even in Freeport -- liked it a lot every time. The two roasts I tried were distinct (one darker/stronger, the other milder and fresher). Service was friendly and fast. India St had a better setup for lounging and sipping.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Far Superior To Starbucks !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I dread having to settle for Starbucks - whenever I travel. I am grateful for coffeehouses like CBD. I only wish I would always have an option like this everywhere.

Great selection of coffee, great staff, nice place to enjoy your joe for a while (I was @ the India Street locale by the waterfront)

Several choices of coffee for your iced coffee - nice touch !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee By Design also viewed

 

Been to Coffee By Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coffee By Design, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.