We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a very pleasant experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dry Dock Restaurant Tavern

Dry Dock Restaurant Tavern
84 Commercial St, Portland, ME 04101-4705
207-774-3550
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 425 Restaurants in Portland
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It was a very pleasant experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

The old charm of the building made for a neat place to eat lunch. We are outside on the deck. Server brought the food very quickly and promptly. Food quality and amount was adequate.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    52
    31
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This cute place is friendly and was referred to us by the Parking People. The food is good, hot and fast. The People in there are warm and friendly.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Place to Have a Drink Near the Water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had appetizers on the back outdoor deck. Lobster rolls and calamari were good along with the drinks. Service was also very good as well. Liked that they had several local craft beers on tap.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aroostook County, Me
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Decent place for drinks alfresco right on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Dry Dock Restaurant and Tavern was a random choice a friend and I made on a gorgeous sunny summer afternoon in Portland's Old Port. We wanted some good food and local microbrews that we could enjoy outside. We weren't disappointed by the Dry Dock. The ambiance and service were great. We couldn't have asked for a more authentic waterfront setting or a more pleasant and efficient server. The drink selection was very good, though the food was just okay. I wasn't disappointed, but am sure you can get probably get better seafood nearby, since the Old Port is brimming with choices for "foodies", one of which I am not. Overall, it balanced out to a quite pleasant experience for both of us. I'd recommend a table on the deck overlooking the waterfront if it's a nice day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lunch on the deck, on the dock.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stopped for lunch at Dry Dock Restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed it. The server recommended the Cajun Fish and Chips, and when in Rome.....bottom line, it was delicious. We ate outside on the lower deck, and the overall sights and sounds of the harbor and dock were perfect. For a quick, affordable but not cheap food, try this place and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Dock Restaurant Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Dry Dock Restaurant Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dry Dock Restaurant Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.