We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boone's Fish House & Oyster Room

Boone's Fish House & Oyster Room
86 Commercial St, on Custom House Wharf, Portland, ME 04101-4708 (Formerly Boone's Restaurant)
2077745725
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #231 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: From the creator of Portland’s “Rooms” restaurants - Seafood on the Wharf. Boone’s Fish House and Oyster Room is a historic restaurant located on the Portland, ME waterfront. Just steps from Portland’s Old Port, Boone’s combines a perfect seaside location with the freshest local seafood for an unforgettable dining experience.The original Boone’s was established in 1898 and ran continuously until 2006. Now fully restored, and re-imagined, it boasts 2 beautiful decks, upstairs and down, serving steamed Maine lobster, wood-grilled fish & fried clams seven days a week. Upstairs holds the Oyster Room, with the ability to hold private functions of up to 150 guests and serving a raw bar and wood-fired flatbreads. Harding Lee Smith is Chef & owner with Bryan Dame as the Executive Chef and Sean Doherty as Chef de Cuisine of the Oyster Room.Discover a far-reaching array of seafood, much displayed on ice for your choosing. Pick your own lobster and, on the menu, you’ll find an extensive selection of local seafood like Maine oysters, Maine clams and fresh fish entrees. Watch the boats bring in the day’s catch while you enjoy the oyster bar or crack into a steaming hot lobster with sweet, drawn butter. For an authentic taste of Portland, the New England clam chowder or a famous lobster roll will get you started!Boone’s offers the real Maine dining experience just as it did when it originally opened. Boone’s combines a modern, rustic atmosphere with the best seafood in Portland. The spacious yet cozy dining room makes Boone’s an ideal destination for enjoying a seafood dinner with your whole family, sharing an intimate meal on a special occasion, or hosting a gathering or small event. While you’re visiting Portland, make Boone’s your first choice for enjoying a fresh Maine seafood dinner in a convenient, indoor/outdoor, and waterfront setting.
Medford, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The food was extremely overpriced and the staff was not that friendly. I have no desire to return. I have no idea why the hotel recommended this place to us?

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    81
    49
    47
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dexter, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Never going back! These people haven't got a clue. The host seemed to have his hands full with all the incompetent and rude staff he was dealing with, especially the hostess. Tables too close together, no lighting, menus written so small unreadable, terrible acoustics. So loud you could not communicate with your party. Over priced, lousy lousy lousy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Overpriced, under delivered!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Unfortunately, each time Harding Lee Smith opens another restaurant it seems poorer than the last. Boone's is interesting! Incredibly noisy space that was smoke-filled for the first fifteen minutes of our visit.
My halibut and farm veggies entree was so small that for the first time in my life I complained. Our server apologized and said the portion was 6 ounces before cooking. My two bites of protein and two chunks of carrot with three cauliflower pieces was not worth the $35 cost. I ate some of my wife's soggy fries to somewhat fill my hunger. Our friend left more than half his meal!
Portland has so many great spots that we will not return to this one.
Too bad the owner stopped being a chef, he was really pretty good at one time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good but not worth it with so many other great choices in Portland.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Haddock was tasty but not great. Mussels about the same. My friend had to send his chowder back twice. Good service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An unpleasant experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We went downtown to a have dinner at a place where we had a coupon, but that restaurant was closed. Next door was Boone's restaurant which had recently reopened. My husband had wanted to try it because in 1957 when he first came to Portland, that is where his company brought him to introduce him to fresh Maine seafood. Well, this time it was not a good experience. The best part was a big stone fireplace with a warm, inviting wood fire. It was very cold outside so this was welcome. But then --the lights were so low that we could not see the menu without putting it by our little tea candle. The food choices were limited and quite expensive so I chose mussels with cole slaw and french fries. My husband said "ditto." The french fries were good, the waiter was pleasant, the cole slaw was not wonderful, and the mussels were tiny and overcooked. My husband even got one that was bad tasting. We each had a bottle of beer that was way overpriced. When my husband complained about the mussels, the waitress basically said, "well that's too bad." The bill was $50 --I wished I had stayed home and cooked! Obviously, that will be the last time we eat at Boone's!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boone's Fish House & Oyster Room also viewed

 

Been to Boone's Fish House & Oyster Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boone's Fish House & Oyster Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.