We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the fish and chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Port Sea Grill

Old Port Sea Grill
93 Commercial St, Portland, ME 04101-4703
(207) 879-6100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Port Sea Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #142 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Custom House St.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Every year, my sister and I venture over to Portland for a day of Christmas shopping. We like to break up the day with lunch at Old Port Sea Grill. The atmosphere is industrial which plays off the architectural intensity of the rest of the town. Contrary to another reviewer, I've had the fish and chips twice and love them! They are piping hot and accompanied by an update on the traditional mayo soaked slaw. The coffee yesterday was hot and rich, and the cream is served in a pitcher. The menu was sufficiently varied to accommodate burger lovers and health conscious. Yes, it was a little weird that we were the only party in this commodious restaurant, but the staff said December is slow time and people were staying off the roads due to a light snowfall. No matter-- we had a great view of snow flakes sifting down over Old Port.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    52
    31
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Martinis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I love stopping in at the Old Port Sea Grill for a wonderful martini and mussels. The fish is always fresh and well prepared, did I mention the mussels??? Delicious!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“not for fish and chips”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is more of a raw bar then a fish and chips place. However, I figured a seafood restaurant couldn't screw up fish and chips too bad. I was wrong. I fish arrived with a pale golden color, hinting at perhaps a not hot enough frier. I cut into a piece, and found the batter actually made more of a dough pocket for the fish. The fish actually fell out of the pocket! The fish was way undercooked, bordering on inedible. The inside of the batter coating/pocket was mushy and not cooked through. All in all a big dissappointment. The waiter never came by to ask how everything was. With so many other quality restuarants in Portland, ME there is no way I would go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Ridiculously good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Its hard not to obnoxiously gush in this review. The service was great. The ambiance was good. The food was out of this world. Some of the best seafood ever. This place tries to support the local fishing industry and I'm pretty sure some of the seafood we ate was swimming earlier that day. Granted, I am from an inland state, but this may some of the freshest, best prepared seafood I have ever eaten. It was hard not to go back here every night we were in Portland. Wow. Why would locals ever eat meat if they have places like this???

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Went here on our one night in Portland whilst touring New England. Having walked around Old Portland and looked at the menus and peered through the windows of most options, we chose this one. Being a mid-week it wasn't too busy, although there were plenty of others that were much emptier. It had a good mix of couples and business groups dining which made for the atmosphere. The place has a good atmosphere, the service was very friendly and efficient, and the food was good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Port Sea Grill also viewed

 

Been to Old Port Sea Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Port Sea Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.