We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oysters!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J's Oyster

J's Oyster
5 Portland Pier, Portland, ME 04101-4713
207-772-4828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 552 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oysters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This is a little unassuming restaurant on the water. Crowded all the time because the food is so good and the prices are so reasonable! $18 for a dozen of the best oysters you'll get! A fun place...nothing fancy but if you want great oysters...this is the place the locals go!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    299
    85
    46
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tough Mudder Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Crazy busy Sunday late afternoon. A line out the door, no tables inside or out, or bar seats. Put my name on the list and was told there would be at least a 30 min wait unless a couple of bar seats became available and then we could help our selves. The hostess was a "no-show" but the woman who took my name was polite and 'to the point". 10 minutes later we were seated. End of a busy weekend, locals were every where (still wearing there uniforms from other restaurants) so I figured the food & drinks would be good. My 1st choice of beverage was not available but the recommendation of my server was great. We had clams, oysters and a Reuben. Had to be the best food we had on our trip.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Oysters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

A simple oyster bar, serving very fresh and tasty oysters at a nice price. Just a remark on serving: oysters should be opened more carefully, avoiding shell chips to finish into the meat.
Lobster roll is not among the best I had.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Tour of Apps!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We decided to try their apps. Started with the Oysters. Very good, topped off with a spicy Bloody Mary.

On with the crab stuffed mushrooms... Delicious!


The Pan steamed mussels left a lake of garlic infused oil that was perfect for dipping the Hawaiian rolls they served.

Finished off with the Lobster stew!

J's was a great food experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best lobster and steamers!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Being in Maine we ate quite a lot of lobsters. This was the best "lobster feast" we had. The bonus was that it was also one of the most economical. The baker's dozen oysters were only $18!!!! My wife and thoroughly enjoyed that meal.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J's Oyster also viewed

 

Been to J's Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J's Oyster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.