We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boda

Boda
671 Congress St, Portland, ME 04101-3303
207-347-7557
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 552 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Noblesville, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had dinner at Boda last week. The place is a bit noisy, but the food was fantastic. We enjoyed everything we had including a couple of glasses of New Zealand white which were first rate. Appetizer, main courses and dessert were all wonderful. I can easily recommend it and we will go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    50
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Jewel in Portland's Crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Recently my husband and I were in Portland and received a recommendation for Boda. We were thrilled at the variety of the menu and enjoyed every morsel we ate. My jasmine tea left me swooning for it was so much better than any I have been served. The soup's broth was a delicate balance of Asian flavors and all the entrees we ordered were excellent and savory. Boda is a rare Thai treat and one to be appreciated by all.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Boda great food with an outstanding selection of spirits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Cocktails are an American passion and very few ethnic restaurants have the faintest idea of what a good cocktail is. We were delightfully surprised to find that Boda offers top-shelf spirits, more in fact than you will find in most U.S. restaurants: Booker's Bourbon, Knob Creek Rye, Redbreast Irish Whiskey, El Mayor Añejo Tequila just to name a few. Really no matter your preference in gin, vodka, rum or others, Boda has the very best. There's a good selection of locally brewed draft beers and an unpretentious wine list that offers wine by the glass for each wine.

Now on to the food. The creative menu offers well-prepared Thai based foods with extraordinary sauces on the side. Each sauce had delicate but with bold flavors i.e., extremely flavorful with no overbearing hot pepper heat often so prevalent in Thai foods. The crispy squid was the best we've had in years, Pork Satay with a peanut sauce was outstanding and the roasted Yaowarat Duck was perfect and not at all fatty/greasy. The mango sticky rice with coconut sauce for dessert was very refreshing with perfectly ripened mangoes.

We sat in the bar section near the glassed in food preparation station and enjoyed the bartender making magic potions while chefs put their creative talents to work.

In short it was one of the best restaurant meals we have had in a long time. Boda is long on quality food in a rather understated setting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Bodalicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very good apps, especially the skewered beef with garlic and Lemmon grass. Sticky rice ball a bit over soyed, and wings a bit greasy, but great flavor. Great atmosphere, but Veranda Thai's pad Thai and green curry have spoiled us. A good option oft downtown since they have parking!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Inviting spot ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We sat at the bar on a Friday night and luckily got the last two. There's plenty of turnover so no prob. Each of us had a local maine draught beer and we split 4 apps - portabella mushrooms with a tangy BBQ sauce , raw oysters with a spicy sauce and surprising little crunch,steamed veggies with. Wonderful eggplant dip(we got an extra one) and grilled whole quail split in two. Everything was cooked well and the variety of flavors was nice with only the 4 apps. Nice spot on top of Portland's west side.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boda also viewed

 

Been to Boda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.