We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top shelf all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fore Street

Fore Street
288 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101-4109
207-775-2717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fore Street is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Franklin and Pearl
Bucks County, PA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Top shelf all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

3 of us went for a business dinner. Fantastic, fresh food from their nightly changing menu, great open kitchen, wonderful atmosphere. Only thing that could be better is the signage out front - drove by it 3 times till we saw it!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    188
    107
    53
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 NEW

open the door and your nose is filled with hardwood and apple smoke- sold- warm and inviting- definitely worth the price

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

The people who work here are just terrific. The hosts know their business and are genuinely friendly, the folks at the bar are funny, and our waitress, who had been here since in opened about 12 years ago, was a delight. You really could not ask for better service. (Well, OK, our waitress later brought the wrong bottle of wine to the table, and forgot to leave the nuts off the cheese plate, but no harm done!)

We were three person who improbably found a table even without making reservations on a Saturday night. While waiting in the bar for only a short period of time, we ordered glasses of wine. The glasses, which were of the large type, came nearly full! I've never seen a restaurant splurge on wine that way (mostly one gets nickel-and-dimed), and I must say it made quite an impression on all of us.

The main course - we all had fish of course - was uniformly excellent as we knew it would be. We were somewhat less impressed with the appetizers. In particular, my warm apple salad was mushy and fairly tasteless. At Fore Street, I think it's best practice to stick with what they do best, which is seafood.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Since 1996”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Always the best excellent place for a nice romantic dinner or for a group. We have been going to Fore Street since 1996 and have not missed a year yet. When we lived we would go here twice a month now it a must on our way through. When we know we are headed that way my mouth starts to water for the famous Hanger steak and my partner dreams of what may be on the menu.
I am so ready for our July 2015 trip.
Thanks for the great meals

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

This was our first visit - first off the décor is charming. The menu choices are wonderful and the food was delightful. They also support the local community and they bake their own goods on premise. When we visit Portland again - we will be sure to return to this gem.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fore Street also viewed

 

Been to Fore Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fore Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.