We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, way too noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fore Street

Fore Street
288 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101-4109
207-775-2717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fore Street is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Franklin and Pearl
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“good food, way too noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have eaten at Fore Street several times, without ever enjoying the experience. The food is good and I would have rated the restaurant higher except for two things; it has the reputation of being one of the best places to eat in Portland, a totally undeserved reputation, and the atmosphere is so incredibly noisy it is impossible to have a conversation. Also, as most of the neative reviews point out, the service is poor, one waits forever for their order and the wait staff are not very pleasant. The only other restaurant I know of in Portland that is even noisier than Fore Street, is Street and Company, which has the same owner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    188
    107
    53
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“great vibe and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Terrific spot and Portland with excellent food and service, o-pen kitchen concept, great presentation, fresh local produce, superb seafood and local beer selection. Very NYC-like feel. Remarkable place in a city with quite a few nice restaurants

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I come here every year and this year was the best yet. The halibut was awesome and the mussels are great every year. Tried the pork belly and loved it too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“As good as they say!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Loved, loved, loved the food. Original, inventive and perfectly executed. I could LIVE on the stuffed squash blossoms...OMG so so good...wish there were more than 2 on the plate. We also shared the mussels, which we enjoyed. My husbands pork chops were to his liking and I ordered the flank steak which was good - however I wished I had ordered the 1/2 chicken which looked sooo good. Service was very good as was the ambiance.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Cannot imagine a better dinner than the one we enjoyed July 1. Friendly greeting, wonderfully warm atmosphere, and excellent service. The clams to begin were transcendent and each course thereafter superb. We ordered a pricey wine which was only twice the cost of the same bottle in our local wine shop. Perhaps a move to Portland is in order.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fore Street also viewed

 

Been to Fore Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fore Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.