We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, great beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flatbread Company

Flatbread Company
72 Commercial St, Ste 5, Portland, ME 04101-4749
207-772-8777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Fredericton, NB
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food, great beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

What more could you want? They always have an interesting salad and flatbread of the day, along with their regular menu offerings. Jay's Heart (cheese and sauce flatbread) is the standard by which all other cheese pizza's should be measured.

They have a great regional beer selection, and offer samples if you're not sure about one.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    143
    28
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrensburg, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Nothing is better than pizza cooked in a wood fired oven at the Flatbread Company. Pizza combinations can be unusual but worth trying, We had a steak and mashed potato pizza which was wonderful. Of course a cold draft beer especially a local favorite Allagash white always goes with pizza at a neat setting on the harbor.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza, Excellent atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our family celebrates pretty much every birthday here with a birthday dinner. We always order two or three salads with goat cheese to share. And we tend to order 3 pizzas for 5 people, which may seem like a lot, but we like to bring home the leftovers and eat them later that night or the next morning.

Ingredients are fresh and delicious, the staff is very attentive to your needs/requests, and always work to make sure you are 100% satisfied. Avoid prime dinner hours if you want to not wait for up to 45 to 60 minutes for a table.

Outdoor seating is AMAZING when weather is nice, spot on the water offers frequently changing view and tons of people watching at the water taxi dock or as a Ferry unloads.

Great for family, date night or business.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great laid back atmosphere with water views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great place to go to relax, have a great meal and cold drink. Wonderful place to chat with a friend, couches and comfy seating and water views.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BEST FLATBREAD EVER!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Their flatbread is addictive. I have tried to find other flatbreads that would compare with no luck. The atmosphere is FUN, however the last visit, wasn't as fun, as they were having issues with their lighting and I found it a bit too DARK. I hope they have this fixed by my next trip. You actually get to watch them fire bake the pizza in the middle of the restaurant and they have a GREAT water view! The wait was over an hour to get a table, but that shows that many others love to eat there too!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flatbread Company also viewed

 

Been to Flatbread Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flatbread Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.