We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benkay Japanese Restaurant

Benkay Japanese Restaurant
2 India St, Portland, ME 04101-4710
207-773-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 539 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Quesnel, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

i used a groupon for a Sunday lunch and am so impressed. The rock and roll was probably one of the best sushi rolls I have had and the volcano roll has an amazing presentation and taste. The servers were attentive, my water glass was never empty and the service was very quick for being fairly busy. I will be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    37
    15
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Neighborhood pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I frequent BenKay with friends and family and always find it consistent and enjoyable. During the week they offer Bento boxes for lunch that always include a good hot protein and a piece of tempura shrimp as well as a sushi roll. The ramen noodle soups are enormous tureens filled with flavorful broth. The sushi is always fresh and specialty items, such as Uni are available (see the board at the door). The wait staff is consistently pleasant and knowledgable. My only carp is the persistent use of surimi, or fake crab made from pollack, especially in a state where real crab is plentiful. Guess I have to eat at the bar to correct that the next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were in Portland for work and a store clerk recommended Benkay when we asked about local sushi. My companion is new to most sushi and a bit skittish about trying new things but after tonight's dinner I think she will try anything I suggest. We had the 3-Flavor Appetiser with Salmon Ceviche, Seared Tuna and Red Wine Scallops and she was surprised at the tasty flavors. We then tried to new rolls for her and two cooked rolls that she felt safe ordering. She liked them all and it only reflects well on the cuisine. Server was knowledgeable very friendly. If you crave sushi in Portland I would recommend this to both seasoned sushi lovers and newbies.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Sushi, OK Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The sushi at Benkay was delicious,although I thought they could offer a wider selection of rolls. My wife and I each had three rolls, and the portions were just the right size. The Spider Roll and the Rainbow Roll were very good. The atmosphere was nothing special, typical sushi restaurant. The sake selection was large but most of it is served cold and we prefer hot sake. Overall, we would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved the volcano plate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Delicious! We will be back for the volcano plate. I didn't care for their dumplings, just personal preference.

We used a groupon with no troubles and the service was great.

Prices were not bad.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benkay Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Benkay Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benkay Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.