We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great oysters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eventide Oyster Company

Eventide Oyster Company
86 Middle St, Portland, ME
207-774-8538
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Just opened and is owned by Hugo's next door. Excellent "tapas" small plate seafood. Oysters from Maine and away. Incredible cured Artic Char.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great service, great oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

A fun place in Portland. Stopped here for lunch - wait was ~1 hour but we were able to eat at the bar immediately. Lobster roll is my recommendation - perfectly prepared lobster in a delicious outer roll. I would complement the roll with a few of their large selection of oysters.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    112
    29
    26
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York and London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“an oyster bar or a bar with oysters?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Because this seems to be the latest hip place for after work drinks it is crowded and chaotic, albeit probably very profitable. But noise levels are high too and seating not very comfortable, perhaps to discourage lingering.
BUT the oysters looked delicious ( I can no longer eat them alas) and the choice of condiments inspired and innovative. Husband said they were very good. My peekytoe crab roll ( using a Chinese steamed bun which wasn't explained) was good. The lobster stew would be improved by a dash of Spanish Oloroso rather than a slug of cheaper drier sherry.
There are sherries and sherries and they aren't interchangeable.

The menu is limited - don't go if you want an extensive choices, do go if you like very fresh shellfish.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Large selection of oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We Really enjoyed the crab bun and the battered hake and the raw oysters. The waitress helped pick the oysters and she did a good job. The wait for a table was disorganized and we stood for a while before they took a drink order. It is not really a place for a big dinner but small plates and raw oysters. I enjoyed my food very much. I thought the lobster stew was the weakest entree we ordered. The whoopee pie for dessert was great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Dora, FLorida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Tiny Place big on Taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Small plates and Oysters. If you like Oysters, this is the place to try them. This place is a foodie haven. Everything we tried was great! The place is small so be prepared to wait or come at an off time. Well worth my time. One of the best in Portland.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great oyster bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was a great find on a recent visit to Portland, Maine. The menu was small plates and innovative. The oyster selection was superb. Small place but has ambience of nice bistro. Service was great.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eventide Oyster Company also viewed

 

Been to Eventide Oyster Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eventide Oyster Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.