We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean, courteous, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Portland
Leonia, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great value, clean, courteous, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

From check in with the valet, to the front desk...we were treated like family. Hotel room was very large (standard,queen double). Coffee and microwave in room super clean. All staff very friendly and able to help us find all attractions and needs. Excellent location across from harbor and all the great shops. We will definitely go back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    222
    49
    8
    6
See reviews for
131
286
17
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Clean, quiet, all staff warm and welcoming, as well as unobtrusive yet helpful. Right on the edge of town so it's your choice to walk outside right into tourist scene or left onto the quieter shore park. Ferries to islands directly across the street. Only negative would be room windows don't open and I love fresh air.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My parents, who are in their 70's, and I, stayed here en route to Nth Maine for Christmas. The beds are the best I have ever slept on, anywhere in the world! The ambiance was only bettered by the welcoming warm greetings of the staff. It is right near the water, restaurants and sights. The rooms are clean and fresh and the lobby was amazing! Please do yourself a favour and stay here :-)

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stay at the Hilton Garden Inn, downtown/waterfront in Portland Maine. Lovely hotel and great staff. Can't wait to return in September. We visit Maine and stay at this hotel a couple times each year. The entire staff is always welcoming. The valets are great. They are welcoming and help us with ideas of where to go and restaurants that are great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Portland for 2 nights. This was our second trip to Portland and the first staying at the Hilton. Our room was very spacious and very comfortable. The king size bed was so comfortable. The room had a huge window over looking Commercial Street and the water. It was fun to just sit by the window and watch the traffic and people outside...The hotel was within walking distance to so many restaurants, the water, and shopping. The hotel staff was so friendly and accommodating. .

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water would be best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first trip to Maine and we wanted to be near the water. This was right across the street from the working harbor. We chose a water view room and were very glad we did. It had a large picture window so you could watch all of the boats coming and going - great added entertainment. My husband spent every free minute in the room watching the activity.

We loved the location that was near everything you might want to do. Great restaurants, coffee shops, shopping and the ferry terminal. Also, we were able to walk accross the street to meet our bike tour guides. There is a great walking/running trail down the street that follows the water and leads to a beach. We did not need a car for anything.

Great, helpful and friendly staff. We had no complaints about our room. We did not eat at the restaurant (too many other choices) but the afternoon treats - fresh baked cookies were a nice touch. We would definitely go here again!

Room Tip: The upper floor harbor view room was worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family recently stayed at the Hilton Garden in Portland for 2 nights. There were six adults and our dog and we could not have had a better experience. All the staff from the valets to the front desk clerks were not only helpful but really, really nice!! Many times, at pet friendly hotels, you do not feel truly "welcome". This was not the case. The location was ideal and although the rates were high, especially as we needed two rooms, it is the price you pay to be right in the thick of things on a summer weekend in a popular tourist spot. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the side of the hotel. I had heard from other guests that the rooms right on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.