We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent value for the neighbourhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, decent value for the neighbourhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in November 2013. We totally love the Old Port, and this hotel is an ideal location for enjoying the eating and shopping in that part of Portland. The hotel is right next to the legendary Fore Street restaurant and the similarly well regarded Standard Baking Company. We travelled with our dog and were assigned a room on the pet floor (the third). The room was clean, modern, and amply sized. This hotel is generally less expensive than our other go to property in the area, the Marriott Residence Inn, and the pet "cleaning fee" is $50 per stay as opposed to $100 at the Marriott so points to Hilton on both those accounts. On the down side, parking is entirely valet, which for this stay was not an issue since we didn't need the car all weekend, but all things considered I'd prefer to park my own car and to access it whenever without relying on an intermediary. All in all this hotel is a good option if you're visiting Portland's Old Port.

Room Tip: Most rooms either face Fore St/Standard Baking which is actually not a bad view or Commercial St and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Drew H,

Thank you for the detatiled review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you liked our price point and location. Our rooms are very clean, we have a strong housekeeping team, and I am happy you noticed that. Many of our guests like the convenience of our valet service, as parking can be tight in the city at times. When you are in the area again, please don't hesitate to contact me personally, 207-780-0780, so we can arrange for you to access your car easily during your stay.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    233
    53
    12
    6
See reviews for
143
302
19
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The staff was super friendly and helpful. Meghan at the front desk made sure we had everything we needed and Avery,our welcoming valet, gave us super helpful hints on where to dine. We stayed in the spacious corner suite with fantastic views of the water. The lobby and rooms are very nicely decorated. The lobby coffee was very good. Portland has a lot to offer and I am looking forward to a return trip and staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Cyndy13,

Thank you for the glowing review of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read how helpful Avery and Meghan were. They are valuable members of our team and know the area well. We are looking forward very much to your next stay with us, and hopefully you can enjoy our saltwater pool and fitness center along with our complimentary Starbucks coffee!

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is very convenient to Old Town and is in very good condition with a very helpful and friendly staff. My wife and I were treated well and the room was spacious and comfortable. The coffee and cookies in the lobby with daily papers was a real plus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Michael S,

Thank you for the positive feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We are pleased and gratified to learn that you enjoyed not only the hotel itself, but the friendly staff and delicious complimentary Starbucks coffee! We hope you can stay with us again soon!

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The place was wonderful and service was top notch. I expressed my love of their services to a couple of employees. These employees loved that I noticed!!!! I would highly recommend this hotel. Great location for shopping and dining in the Old Port.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Traci S,

Thank you for this excellent review of us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown/Waterfront in Portland, Maine! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and expressed that to the team. We have an excellent location, and coupled with "top notch service" we truly have the best hotel around. We look forward to your next stay.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stay here mid November and it was a surprise trip. I had never been to Portland before so the location was perfect for exploring the town. It's also directly across the street from the water. We were welcomed by all staff upon arrival. Never visiting Portland before, we made many calls to the front desk for help with where to visit and eat. Each call was detailed and never rushed. They spent time with us making sure we had a fantastic experience. There always seemed to be fresh (complimentary) Starbucks available in the lobby and even sweet treats when we arrived back to the hotel at night. It rained the night we went to dinner and they were happy to lend us an umbrella for the evening. Once we checked out, the front desk suggested a few beautiful places to sightsee before heading home and even wrote down directions for us. The valet was so personable and made sure that we enjoyed our visit and left us treats in the car to enjoy on the way home. The customer service is above and beyond, the location is perfect and the rooms are large and comfortable. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Marie V,

Thank you so much for this glowing review! We are so very pleased to read about how much you enjoyed not only the location, but our staff! I will be sure to share this review with the team here. We strive to make all of our guests feel at home and are very gratifed to know we reached that mark during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
388 reviews 388 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We arrived with the car and used the parking of the hotel for a fee in order to avaid any problem of parking in the street.
The hotel is good with nice rooms.
As I have the gold status with Hilton we had the breakfast for free.
The staff was efficient and friendly.
We stayed just one night so we cannot judge all the services offered by the hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Rosario_it,

Thank you for the positive review! We are always pleased to have our Gold members stay with us, and we are glad you enjoyed your room. We hope that you can join us again and enjoy our in ground heated salt water pool and fitness center.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel is fantastic with a great location so that you can walk everywhere. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The rooms with a kingsize bed only come with a shower but if you have a kingsize room with a sofa you have shower and bath. Use the valet parking...far easier and probably less expensive. Very good value for money in a lovely town.

Breakfasts are good with freshly cooked eggs etc. as well as the normal buffet.

We went for one night and then went back on our return journey to Boston. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.

There is a good gym and small pool, both underused.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel are fine and are quiet. All rooms are spacious but see review about baths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Eric R.,

Thank you for the excellent review of us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown/Waterfront in Portland, Maine. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the valet parking. Our valets are so friendly, and it is such a nice relief to leave your car and enjoy the convenience of walking to the shops and restaurants. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.