We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Portland
Duxbury, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“November stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is very convenient to Old Town and is in very good condition with a very helpful and friendly staff. My wife and I were treated well and the room was spacious and comfortable. The coffee and cookies in the lobby with daily papers was a real plus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Michael S,

Thank you for the positive feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We are pleased and gratified to learn that you enjoyed not only the hotel itself, but the friendly staff and delicious complimentary Starbucks coffee! We hope you can stay with us again soon!

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    222
    49
    8
    6
See reviews for
131
286
17
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The place was wonderful and service was top notch. I expressed my love of their services to a couple of employees. These employees loved that I noticed!!!! I would highly recommend this hotel. Great location for shopping and dining in the Old Port.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Traci S,

Thank you for this excellent review of us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown/Waterfront in Portland, Maine! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and expressed that to the team. We have an excellent location, and coupled with "top notch service" we truly have the best hotel around. We look forward to your next stay.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stay here mid November and it was a surprise trip. I had never been to Portland before so the location was perfect for exploring the town. It's also directly across the street from the water. We were welcomed by all staff upon arrival. Never visiting Portland before, we made many calls to the front desk for help with where to visit and eat. Each call was detailed and never rushed. They spent time with us making sure we had a fantastic experience. There always seemed to be fresh (complimentary) Starbucks available in the lobby and even sweet treats when we arrived back to the hotel at night. It rained the night we went to dinner and they were happy to lend us an umbrella for the evening. Once we checked out, the front desk suggested a few beautiful places to sightsee before heading home and even wrote down directions for us. The valet was so personable and made sure that we enjoyed our visit and left us treats in the car to enjoy on the way home. The customer service is above and beyond, the location is perfect and the rooms are large and comfortable. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Marie V,

Thank you so much for this glowing review! We are so very pleased to read about how much you enjoyed not only the location, but our staff! I will be sure to share this review with the team here. We strive to make all of our guests feel at home and are very gratifed to know we reached that mark during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
388 reviews 388 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We arrived with the car and used the parking of the hotel for a fee in order to avaid any problem of parking in the street.
The hotel is good with nice rooms.
As I have the gold status with Hilton we had the breakfast for free.
The staff was efficient and friendly.
We stayed just one night so we cannot judge all the services offered by the hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Rosario_it,

Thank you for the positive review! We are always pleased to have our Gold members stay with us, and we are glad you enjoyed your room. We hope that you can join us again and enjoy our in ground heated salt water pool and fitness center.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel is fantastic with a great location so that you can walk everywhere. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The rooms with a kingsize bed only come with a shower but if you have a kingsize room with a sofa you have shower and bath. Use the valet parking...far easier and probably less expensive. Very good value for money in a lovely town.

Breakfasts are good with freshly cooked eggs etc. as well as the normal buffet.

We went for one night and then went back on our return journey to Boston. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.

There is a good gym and small pool, both underused.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel are fine and are quiet. All rooms are spacious but see review about baths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Eric R.,

Thank you for the excellent review of us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown/Waterfront in Portland, Maine. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the valet parking. Our valets are so friendly, and it is such a nice relief to leave your car and enjoy the convenience of walking to the shops and restaurants. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Took the family with me while I ran another 1/2 marathon.
When we checked in the guy at the desk acknowledged my Hilton Honnors level but did not mention any sort of upgrade.
On the elevator ride up to the top floor my wife asked, I said NO its full here for the race.
I was wrong, we got to our very large room with a partial view of the harbor, basically room was not directly facing the harbor, but first room off front of hotel so we had excellent views of port and up the coastline
Room was very large with fold out bed, it was not the best room , but it certainly was a notch or 2 up from what I reserved.
Later in day saw desk clerk, thanked him for upgrade (it makes wife happy), his response was "it so full , we had to do something..."
Rest of visit was nice and comfortable, but not extraordinary.
Except for fellow runners the average age of guests was 75+
Used the very small but functional pool all weekend, never saw anyone else in it - I do not explore the small workout room since 13.1 miles was enough exercise for the weekend for me, when wife suggested we go for a walk to get some exercise I reminded her running 20 miles that weekend was enough for me!
Breakfast was good, nothing special but was included in room rate and tasy enough to go twice.
All hotel staff were most pleasant, especially Valet's

We will be back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear syBoston,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront. We are happy to offer complimentary upgrades when they are available and am pleased to read that you and you wife were able to benefit from that. I am impressed to read that you ran a marathon, that is no easy task. Portland is a beautiful city to do that in. We hope you can join us again.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have not stayed in a Hilton in quite a long time. The image that I had had was that of a tired hotel chain. Quite to the contrary - the hotel was clean, well lit and well managed. Great value for the money. The fact that we were able to bring our dog was a huge bonus. Also, the hotel is within a pitching wedge of our favorite restaraunt ("Fore St") and also a fantastic bakery.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Ironman1460,

Thank you for the compliments! We are so glad you were pleased with your stay. We are proud to be a Hilton hotel, and are happy you found us in good working order. Our location is key, and having newer renovations makes for a excellent overall atmosphere. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.