We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a great location with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Portland
Henley on Thames
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a great location with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel is fantastic with a great location so that you can walk everywhere. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The rooms with a kingsize bed only come with a shower but if you have a kingsize room with a sofa you have shower and bath. Use the valet parking...far easier and probably less expensive. Very good value for money in a lovely town.

Breakfasts are good with freshly cooked eggs etc. as well as the normal buffet.

We went for one night and then went back on our return journey to Boston. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.

There is a good gym and small pool, both underused.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel are fine and are quiet. All rooms are spacious but see review about baths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Eric R.,

Thank you for the excellent review of us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown/Waterfront in Portland, Maine. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the valet parking. Our valets are so friendly, and it is such a nice relief to leave your car and enjoy the convenience of walking to the shops and restaurants. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    197
    45
    8
    6
See reviews for
115
254
15
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Took the family with me while I ran another 1/2 marathon.
When we checked in the guy at the desk acknowledged my Hilton Honnors level but did not mention any sort of upgrade.
On the elevator ride up to the top floor my wife asked, I said NO its full here for the race.
I was wrong, we got to our very large room with a partial view of the harbor, basically room was not directly facing the harbor, but first room off front of hotel so we had excellent views of port and up the coastline
Room was very large with fold out bed, it was not the best room , but it certainly was a notch or 2 up from what I reserved.
Later in day saw desk clerk, thanked him for upgrade (it makes wife happy), his response was "it so full , we had to do something..."
Rest of visit was nice and comfortable, but not extraordinary.
Except for fellow runners the average age of guests was 75+
Used the very small but functional pool all weekend, never saw anyone else in it - I do not explore the small workout room since 13.1 miles was enough exercise for the weekend for me, when wife suggested we go for a walk to get some exercise I reminded her running 20 miles that weekend was enough for me!
Breakfast was good, nothing special but was included in room rate and tasy enough to go twice.
All hotel staff were most pleasant, especially Valet's

We will be back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear syBoston,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront. We are happy to offer complimentary upgrades when they are available and am pleased to read that you and you wife were able to benefit from that. I am impressed to read that you ran a marathon, that is no easy task. Portland is a beautiful city to do that in. We hope you can join us again.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have not stayed in a Hilton in quite a long time. The image that I had had was that of a tired hotel chain. Quite to the contrary - the hotel was clean, well lit and well managed. Great value for the money. The fact that we were able to bring our dog was a huge bonus. Also, the hotel is within a pitching wedge of our favorite restaraunt ("Fore St") and also a fantastic bakery.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Ironman1460,

Thank you for the compliments! We are so glad you were pleased with your stay. We are proud to be a Hilton hotel, and are happy you found us in good working order. Our location is key, and having newer renovations makes for a excellent overall atmosphere. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach va., United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

excellent facility, location and staff we needed to be near the Casco Ferry terminal which is located directly across the street from the hotel, we rode the ferry twice during our 6 day stay to view the islands and lighthouses

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Jerry A.,

Thank you for the excellent review you gave our hotel. We have the best location in Portland, being conveniently located near shops, restaurant and the ferry. We are glad we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again!

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts, Usa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We booked two rooms for two nights and stayed on top floor(6) with rooms side by side with a beautiful view of the bay.
We got in late on Sat and we're too tired to drag the little ones out to dinner and the restaurant downstairs was able to accommodate even though they were closing in 1/2 hour.
The indoor pool was a hit with the kids especially with it being so cold outside and with the exercise room right there, everyone was happy.
They valet your car at a cost of $15.00 a day but it was worth it.
The rooms were roomy and very comfortable beds with bathrooms being very clean
The staff was very nice, from front desk, to housekeeping to valet, all and all, a very special time.

Room Tip: Ask when you check in to upgrade if you can and ask for ocean view,well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear 56Marty,

Thank you for the detailed review of your stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown-Waterfront in Portland, Maine. We are pleased that you found everything-from the service you received to the cleanliness of your suite-top notch. That is always our goal, and we are pleased to read that we reached that goal during your stay. I would love for you to have dinner with us next time, please email me personally so I can arrange for that during your next stay with us.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We always check for HGI's first. It's become our standard practice. There are almost never surprises; we know what to expect. However, we thought the price was steep for November! Price on hotels.com was $170 incl tax for a room with two queen beds (cheaper than rooms with one queen/king bed) & when we called the hotel directly, same room started at $170 excl tax. Great location. Another downer was they charge $15/night to park your car. SO we roamed the neighborhood until we could see if we could just find street parking. A lot of the streets had meters. But TIP: we found spots where it was 2hr. parking between 9-5PM so if you park after 4PM, you at least don't have to move it until 11AM the next morning and it is FREE! If you are on Commercial St, with your back to the hotel, these spots are 3 blocks, roughly, from the hotel (go past Crema Coffee). There's an enormous empty lot along this street too ...

The hotel gave out free blondies (usually we get hot cookies) which were great. The place has a restaurant and bar but we ate dinner at "Eventide" which will be a separate review but we LOVED it so I recommend that too.

There is a bakery next to the hotel if you want to get fresh stuff for your coffee/tea in the morning because the hotel also charges EXTRA for the breakfasts!! $11.99 approx for hot stuff (there's a chef) or $7.99 for cold buffet.

Hilton Garden Inn Portland, wise up!!!! The room was great though and the BEST bed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear annarchy,

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay with us! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay. Most of our guests really appreciate the parking arrangement we have here. There are many times when the city is sold out and parking can become difficult, so it is a relief for our guests to know there is always room for them at our hotel, and they can conveniently walk to shops and restaurant. Your tip for street parking is a good one though, and we appreciate your feedback. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly for further inquiries should you (and we hope you do) join us again! april.rossignol@hilton.com

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our stay at the Hilton was lovely. Staff was informative and pleasant. Room was nice, but I can't say outstanding. The location was great for walking to the harbor, restaurants, and shops. Easy to get to. No breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear lorit5,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. While we are pleased and gratified to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay, we would love to know how we could have exceeded your expectations in our rooms. We hope that you will join us again, and I would be happy to help you personally with choosing a room for your next visit. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly by phone, 207-780-0780 or via email at april.rossignol@hilton.com.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Portland Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine
Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront to your Saves list