We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel was great. From the minute we got there the staff was super helpful and nice. They suggested multiple places to eat and things to see. Our room was very clean and so was the bathroom. Great location and close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    274
    56
    12
    9
See reviews for
167
359
26
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stay in the various Hilton properties every week on business trips. Most of our vaction stays are courtesy of thier rewards program. While our room was free we were treated just the same as when I am paying. The hotel and restaurant staff were all very friendly, helpful and knowledgable of there city and region. The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel was in a convenient location to see the Portland sites and to get in and out of town.

We would go back to this hotel and recommend to others going to Portland.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side away from the street and it was very quiet. Our second floor room was near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here on our way East. I picked it for location and it is a good one. It is very similar to four diamond hotels with a few minor differences. They only have valet parking but the garage is right there on the grounds. The only thing less than four star is that we had to schlep our own luggage upstairs, HOWEVER, the valet loaded our cart so it was no problem. The clerks were helpful, including helping me print an item in the business center. Coffee is gratis and is Starbucks. The room was massive as we had a corner room. We could have stayed longer for sure. It was a good stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room with waterview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn doesn't have a garden, but it does have a great location overlooking the waterfront. Common areas are comfortable and very clean, but the staff is the best aspect of the hotel. Everyone from the parking valet to the reception employees to the breakfast staff were all helpful, efficient and cheerful -- remarkably cheerful, even at early early breakfast.

Accidentally, I forgot my kindle. Quickly it was located and then shipped back to me immediately. For sure this unusually good service will ensure that I will stay every time I'm in Portand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've stay here for business a handful of times. The location is great, just down town and nice to take a walk. They have good valet parking and a nice buffet downstairs. The staff is great and the rooms are quite clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel was excellent. The staff, the rooms, the cleanliness and location were tops. I stayed for a work conference and got the government rate. They gave me a waterfront room, surprisingly. There is a parking garage that blocks this hotel's water view, but it is not totally blocked, and I had a great view of the downtown main street and cruise ship area. The hotel was super clean, so no complaints. The hotel has fresh cookies and a nice lounge, bar and restaurant area to just sit and unwind from your conference or flight. I liked that it is right next to several great restaurants like Gilberts (best chowder I have ever had). There is a bakery next store that is more modern (think faux throwback like Anthrolpologie), but they have a ham and cheese croissant that is very delicious. Probably the best asset is its staff. Everyone was extraordinarily friendly. Matt, a manager, picked me up at the airport and returned me to the airport in the hotel shuttle, which is a great convenience. My room had a nice couch and coffee table, which is nice for either leisure or business travelers as a place to eat or do work. The TV was a huge flat screen. I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

One of best locations in the City. Fantastic front dest staff who know how to treat customers. We had a small problem with tub drain and they sent custodian up right away to repair and we were back in business 10 minutes later. Then they called us later to ask if all was ok. Would definitely stay here again when we are in Portland. Well done Hilton Gardens!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.