We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a "real" Hilton” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not a "real" Hilton”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

The Hotel felt more like a Hawthorne Inn than a "regular" Hilton -
basically a place you'd sleep on a biz trip when nothing else is
available.

We flew up from Boston for an overnight stay because we enjoy
some of the restaurants near the waterfront and returning back
the same day was not an option. The hotel has a free shuttle bus
from the airport, and a call to the front desk arranged for a pick-up
at the GA terminal. Upon return, the hotel shuttle was not
available, so the front desk arranged a cab on voucher.

We had a view of the parking lot (a 316.72 USD web special, not
including breakfast). To my disappointment, no minibar - just an
empty refrigerator - how useful. Called room service to order a
mineral and a Campari. The call that the bar was out of Campary
came 20 minutes later - cancel that order.
The room itself was clean, the beds comfortable.

The main attraction of this hotel is its location - if your target is the
waterfront you're all set, no cars, cabs needed - everything is in
walking distance.

We got woken up by loud guests at around 1 am. Was bad
enough to call security, which subsequently had to return 2 more
times without us calling.

The in-house wire-less did not work for my PDA - the front desk
knew nothing about it and connected me to an off-site service
center, who kept insisting on walking me through irrelevant setup
procedures. I ended up using the computer in the hotel's biz
center.

Breakfast ($12 a pop as I recall) was your basic buffet. It took the
staff forever to clear a table and then there was another
substantial wait to get coffee. I can only describe breakfast as an
unorganized mess.

For some reason, Portland,ME is a tough spot to find a decent
hotel. I do think this hotel is overpriced for the services it offers.

  • Liked — location, shuttle service
  • Disliked — price/value, breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    274
    56
    12
    9
See reviews for
167
359
26
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Framingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

My wife and I had a great long weekend at the Hilton Garden Inn. We had a terrific room on the top floor and had a partial view of the water which was really nice as there was much to see with two cruise ships visiting during our short visit.
The best things about the Inn is the very friendly attitude of the staff, the great location and the large comfortable rooms. We also loved being next to the wonderful bakery and don't miss their morning rolls. Having a small refrigerator in the room was a nice feature.
The worst part of the trip was that our beds were very soft and uncomfortable. We paid 249. for the room each night.
We had a great time at Scarborough Beach and a great meal at Street and Company.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — too soft bed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, NJ
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

This hotel is located right across from the waterfront. Our room was large and cheerful. It was also remarkably quiet. We were on the second floor facing the street and, except for the occasional truck, we heard no traffic noise. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — large, quiet, cheerful room
  • Disliked — a tad pricey
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

The best things about this hotel are the location on the waterfront and the proximity to Standard Baking Co. (don't miss the pecan sticky buns - I have a friend who goes to Portland once a year and dreams of those sticky buns from one year to the next). The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful across the board. The rooms, while clean and relatively new, are pretty generic - no unique charm or sense of being in Portland or Maine. The sheets are a little scratchy for a Hilton. I will come back though for the reasons mentioned above. Try the Porthole for dinner and Gilberts for the best seafood chowder ever. Becky's along the waterfront is another good choice for breakfast - a local institution for hearty breakfast and they have a great fruit plate too.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — scratchy sheets
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

I love love loved this hotel, and so did my friends! We stayed there for the nite of my best friends bachelorette party, and the place was fabulous - very clean, safe, upscale, and worth every penny. The only thing I disliked was the valet parking, you have no other choice, lame. I would highly recommed this hotel to stay during your Old Port visit

  • Liked — Clean and gorgeous Inn, very comfortable
  • Disliked — Valet parking is their only choice
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.