We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn On Carleton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn On Carleton
Save
You added Inn On Carleton to your Saves list
46 Carleton Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hanover, NH
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wow! Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Inn was clean, neat, cozy, and comfy. Amazing breakfast. Fabulous selection of treats & bottled water 24/7. Super yummy homemade chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon. Buddy & Cindy are super kind & friendly & helpful & full of lots of energy. (We thought that maybe Cindy was a little too chatty & cheerful, but then decided that it was 100x better than the quiet, non-friendly innkeeper at our next stop.) Wish it was in the heart of downtown, but luckily not too far.

Room Tip: It was a heat wave, upper 90's, when we were there. We like it super cool for sleeping. Wish we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    32
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
372
25
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Searsport, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the end of July and really enjoyed it. Buddy Marcum is a terrific host! Our room (#3) was roomy, A/C equipped, well-appointed and had a very comfortable king-size bed. The large tiled bathroom with a european style shower is off the hallway but private to the room and offers some lovely amenities such as a bath robe for each guest! We found all the common areas to be beautifully decorated, inviting and spotless. We delighted in the delicious breakfast choices and really appreciated having water, snacks, tea and a refrigerator with popsicles and bottled water always available. The garden in the back is beautiful and expertly designed and tended. There are chairs and umbrella tables and it is makes for a lovely secluded spot to sit and enjoy a summer evening. We will recommend this B&B to all our friends and will make it our special place to stay when we are in Portland!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was our second time at the Inn. We stayed there over a year ago and couldn't wait to return. Cindy remembered us right away even though she meets tons of new guests all of the time! We love her! The Inn is located in a great part of town, walkable to everything you'd want to do. The common areas are clean and comfortable and inviting, with snacks and drinks always available. The rooms well-appointed with every modern comfort you could want, including A/C in the summer! Breakfast is outstanding, but even on the days when we had to leave early and miss breakfast, Cindy and Jen got up early to make us coffee and toast. This is probably our favorite B&B we've ever stayed in. We recommend this place to all of our friends, and we look forward to visiting again next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at the Inn at the beginning of July. It was our first stay in a B&B and we were celebrating our 10 year anniversary, so we wanted something special. We planned our trip months before and poured over all the choices of B&B's there were in Portland. The Inn on Carleton won out and we are so glad it did! Buddy, our host, was so nice! He gave us great suggestions of places to eat and things to see during our short time in Portland. Our room was beautiful and very cozy. We really loved the claw foot tub, especially the very fun fish plug and rubber ducky. The highlight of our stay was breakfast, it was amazing (and the reason why the Inn had won out during our research). If we are ever back on the east coast and head to Portland, we will certainly go back to the Inn on Carleton!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Inn On Carleton for two nights in July. Our hosts Buddy and Cindy were most welcoming and made us feel totally at home. The beautiful Inn is wonderfully decorated and exudes charm in every corner. Our room was quite large (#3) with a lovely view of the garden, a large comfortable bed and a very large bathroom. Breakfasts were amazing, with a special each day along with the alternative of having eggs, bacon/sausage and toast or croissants cooked to order. Afternoon home baked snacks were a delightful surprise after a day of sightseeing in Portland. The west end location is perfect, in a quiet neighborhood with equally beautiful homes, walkable distance to many terrific restaurants, the fascinating Portland Museum of Art and the Old Port area of Portland. Great B and B, great hosts and great location, who can ask for anything more.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a nice view of the garden and is only 1 flight of stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moutain Lakes, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on Carlton the end of June for two nights. Buddy and Cindi could not have been better hosts. They were warm and welcoming and the breakfast served by Cindi was wonderful. We stayed in the green corner room on the first floor and absolutely loved it. It was recently updated, very clean and beautifully decorated. Both Buddy and Cindi attended to our every need and no request was too much. There was ample parking, a problem with some of the other places we looked into, without charge and the location was ideal. I would highly recommend this Inn for anyone looking for a place to stay in Portland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We only stayed one night, but the property was very nice - clean, comfortable and in a quiet neighborhood. Buddy was very welcoming and accommodating when we had to rush out for a flight change. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Address: 46 Carleton Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn On Carleton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.