We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When is Chowder Chowder?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Provisions

Aurora Provisions
64 Pine Street, Portland, ME
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: American
Description: It's not technically a restaurant, but the baked goods, sandwiches, service, and choices are enough to warrant it a spot on Trip Advisor.
Restaurant details
Description: It's not technically a restaurant, but the baked goods, sandwiches, service, and choices are enough to warrant it a spot on Trip Advisor.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“When is Chowder Chowder?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I do like going to Aurora for lunch, but a few times lately I have ordered food that turned out to be completely different than what I thought it would be. Ex: Secret ingredient in the chicken salad is occasionally bleu cheese. Today I ordered sweet potato chowder that looked ( and tasted) like chunky tomato soup. They will certainly shoot me attitude when I ask them for a list of ingredients - but better than me throwing the meal away. And yes - ATTITUDE - is what you get from most of the staff.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I feel like a ghost..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

when I visit Aurora Provisions. I have purchased items from this establishment on a number of occasions - lunch, a frozen meal to go, desserts or just a bottle of wine. Each time, I have a very hard time attracting the attention of the wait staff, even when I am the only one in the store, even when the staff isn't engaged in private conversation. Sometimes I just put my stuff down and leave. It is like I am invisible, maybe I am not wearing the right outfit?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“So Many Options!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We loved Aurora Provisions!!! I do have to say right off that it isn´t cheap. But the food is creative and delicious. They have a wide variety of baked goods, sandwiches, wraps, and a fantastic section where you can mix a variety different salads and meats...such as baked squash, couscous salad, grilled tofu, marinated steak, baked fish etc. They also have fresh baked bread from the best bakery in town, great cofee and espresso drinks, a selection of wine, beer and special cheeses. AND many other things!!! It has something for everone so people with different tastes will find something they like. It´s a great place to sit and enjoy an afternoon in a great neighborhood. I wish it were in my neighborhood!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood cafe and market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The addition of fresh vegetables, flowers and produce makes Aurora even a better visit. Small but excellent wine selection, Belgian chocolate, Standard Bakery bread, sandwiches, coffee, take out or eat there entrees, dessert, and did I mention parking?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and soups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I tried the turkey cranberry sandwich. Delicious. Fresh bread and turkey sliced right off the bird. Everything you need for dinner is sold there

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora Provisions also viewed

 

Been to Aurora Provisions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Provisions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.